W&M’s Cundiff, UNCW’s Klausen Headline CAA Women’s Swim & Dive Award Winners

Courtesy: CAA Sports

RICHMOND, Va. (April 13, 2022) – William & Mary senior Missy Cundiff was chosen as the 2022 CAA Women’s Swimmer of the Year and UNCW junior Courtney Klausen was honored for the second time as the CAA Women’s Diver of the Year in a vote by the league’s head coaches.

Joining Cundiff and Klausen as major award winners in women’s swimming and diving were UNCW freshman Katie Knorr as Rookie Swimmer of the Year and Northeastern freshman Erin Murphy as Rookie Diver of the Year. William & Mary’s Nate Kellogg repeated as the CAA Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year and UNCW’s Beau Bunn was selected as the women’s diving Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Cundiff finished 18th overall at the NCAA Championship in the 50 freestyle with a time of 22.05. At the CAA Championship, she set a meet record (22.26) while capturing the 50 free. She was also part of the Tribe’s first-place 200 medley relay team and took silver in both the 200 free relay and 400 free relay events. Cundiff set pool records in the 50 free in every meet this season and set a new CAA all-time mark of 21.98 in the event last November. She is W&M’s first CAA Swimmer of the Year since 2008.

Klausen repeated as the Most Outstanding Diver at the CAA Championship after sweeping both boards. She compiled a score of 302.10 on the 3-meter board to win the event by 17 points. In the 1-meter competition, she had 276.40 points to take the title by more than 10 points. Klausen went on to place in the top 33 in both events at the NCAA Zone Championships. Prior to Klausen’s back-to-back awards, UNCW hadn’t had a CAA Diver of the Year since 1999.

Knorr compiled the most points of any freshman at the CAA Championship and recorded the third-highest total of any swimmer. She was the CAA champion in the 4oo IM with a time of 4:19.72, placed third in the 200 IM and had a fifth-place finish in the 200 back. Knorr is UNCW’s first Rookie Swimmer of the Year honoree since 2013.

Murphy reached the podium on both boards during the CAA Championship. The freshman placed second in the 3-meter competition with a score of 285.05 and finished third in the 1-meter event with a score of 265.30. Murphy went on to compete at the NCAA Zone championships in both events. She is NU’s first Rookie Diver of the Year since 2019.

Kellogg received CAA Swimming Coach of the Year honors for the second straight season after guiding William & Mary to its first conference title since 2017. The Tribe compiled 663.5 points without any divers and won the championship by 42.5 points. W&M swimmers won four individual events and two relays.

Bunn was voted as the CAA Diving Coach of the Year for the second year in a row. Along with helping Klausen take gold on both boards at the CAA Championship, UNCW’s Tatum Church placed second in the 1-meter competition.

In addition to the 2022 major award winners in women’s swimming and diving, the following individuals and relay teams received All-CAA accolades based on their performances at the CAA Championship.

50-Freestyle: Missy Cundiff, William & Mary; Lera Nasedkina, Drexel; Jamie Koo, Northeastern
100-Freestyle: Katie Stevenson, William & Mary; Chelsea Gravereaux, Drexel; Lera Nasedkina, Drexel
200-Freestyle: Mira Selling, Delaware; Chelsea Gravereaux, Drexel; Elizabeth Intihar, William & Mary
500-Freestyle: Brooke Knisely, UNCW; Elizabeth Intihar, William & Mary; Maddie Riley, Drexel
1650-Freestyle: Brooke Knisely, UNCW; Maddie Riley, Drexel; Karlee Carminati, Towson
100-Butterfly: Jamie Koo, Northeastern; Hannah Seward, Northeastern; Victoria Palochik, Drexel
200-Butterfly: Mira Selling, Delaware; Victoria Cunningham, UNCW; Samantha Casolo, Towson
100-Breaststroke: Mania Tasakou, Delaware; Annie Tuttle, William & Mary; Megan Sicinski, Drexel
200-Breaststroke: Annie Tuttle, William & Mary; Megan Sicinski, Drexel; Mania Tasakou, Delaware
100-Backstroke: Anna Kenna, William & Mary; Federica Nocera, Drexel; Kate Cosgrove, Northeastern
200-Backstroke: Federica Nocera, Drexel; Bailey Smith, Northeastern; Anna Kenna, William & Mary
200-Individual Medley: Mira Selling, Delaware; Ellie Scherer; Katie Knorr, UNCW
400-Individual Medley: Katie Knorr, UNCW; Karlee Carminati, Towson; Maddie Riley, Drexel
200-Freestyle Relay: Drexel (Lera Nasedkina, Ryann Styer, Victoria Palochik, Chelsea Gravereaux)
William & Mary (Missy Cundiff, Katie Stevenson, Brooke Lamoureux, Anna Kenna)
Towson (Maddie Mince, Hailey Ritter, Katie Nunez, Parker Schulz)
400-Freestyle Relay: Drexel (Lera Nasedkina, Victoria Palochik, Paige Powell, Chelsea Gravereaux)
William & Mary (Katie Stevenson, Missy Cundiff, Elizabeth Intihar, Anna Kenna)
Delaware (Natalie Dobrzykowski, Aislinn Mitchell, Anthi Lyra, Mira Selling)
800-Freestyle Relay: William & Mary (Katie Stevenson, Grace Tramack, Ellie Henry, Elizabeth Intihar)
UNCW (Brooke Knisely, Tink Niebel, Sarah Rogillio, Gracie Steelhammer)
Delaware (Natalie Dobrzykowski, Charlise Oberholzer, Anthi Lyra, Mira Selling)
200-Medley Relay: William & Mary (Anna Kenna, Annie Tuttle, Corinne Davenport, Missy Cundiff)
UNCW (Victoria Cunningham, Sarah Olson, Reece Alexander, Brooke Morgan)
Drexel (Aldercy Bui, Megan Sicinski, Victoria Palochik, Lera Nasedkina)
400-Medley Relay: Drexel (Federica Nocera, Megan Sicinski, Chelsea Gravereaux, Lera Nasedkina)
William & Mary (Anna Kenna, Annie Tuttle, Maura Graff, Katie Stevenson)
Delaware (Crissy Earley, Mania Tasakou, Aislinn Mitchell, Mira Selling)
One-Meter Dive: Courtney Klausen, UNCW; Tatum Church, UNCW; Erin Murphy, Northeastern
Three-Meter Dive: Courtney Klausen, UNCW; Erin Murphy, Northeastern; Alyssa Largay, Towson

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments