Water Polo: FINA World Women’s Youth Water Polo Championships in Madrid August 25-31

The second edition of the FINA World Women’s Youth Water Polo Championships will take place in Madrid (ESP) from August 25-31, 2014 gathering 16 teams from the five continents. Contested by athletes under 18 years of age, the distribution of the national squads is done by groups, as follows:

GROUP A: South Africa, United States, Germany and Hungary
GROUP B: Brazil, Greece, Japan and Italy
GROUP C: Puerto Rico, China, Spain and Netherlands
GROUP D: Canada, New Zealand, Australia and Russia

The preliminary round is staged on August 25-27, followed by the Qualification round (August 28), Quarter Final round (August 29), Semi Final round (August 30) and Final round (August 31).

At the inaugural edition of this event, in 2012 in Perth (AUS), the teams on the podium were Greece (gold), Hungary (silver) and Russia (bronze).

Water Polo News / Swimming News courtesy of FINA.


Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »