Watch Larkin win 100 Backstroke at World Championships – Race Video

Swimming Video is courtesy of Universal Sports Network, a SwimSwam partner. Video can only been seen by US viewers.


2013 World Champion: Matt Grevers, USA – 52.93
World Record: 51.94 – Aaron Peirsol, USA – 2009
Championship Record: 52.19 – Aaron Peirsol, USA – 2009

GOLD: Mitchell Larkin, AUS – 52.40
SILVER: Camille LaCourt, FRA – 52.48
BRONZE: Matt Grevers, USA – 52.66

Mitchell Larkin completed the sweep of the 100 backstroke for Australia, winning the event with a time of 52.40. It was very close at the touch, but he held of the Silver medalist, Camille LaCourt of France, who finished .08 seconds behind with a 52.48.

Matt Grevers was first at the 50m mark but was unable to maintain the lead, falling to third with his final time of 52.66. Xu Jiayu of China just missed the podium and was the only other swimmer under the 53 second barrier, finishing fourth at 52.89.

The two British finalists, Chris Walker-Hebborn and Liam Tancock, finished fifth and eighth, respectively. Walker-Hebborn finished with a time of 53.02 and Tancock posted a 53.37.

Irie Ryosuke of Japan was the favorite coming into the meet. He finished sixth at 53.10. Seventh place when to Russia’s Evgeny Rylov with a 53.23.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 years ago

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »