Wagner Women Repeat At ECAC Winter Champions

by SwimSwam 0

December 02nd, 2017 College, NCAA Division I Mid-Major

Meet Results

  • December 3, 2017
  • Score
    • MEN
      • Emmanuel 1685
      • NJIT 1082
      • Fairfield 847
    • WOMEN
      • Wagner 1277.5
      • Fairfield 830
      • Long Island 696

Press Release

Courtesy of ECAC

MEN: The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) concluded the 2017 Winter Swimming and Diving Championships on Sunday, with Emmanuel College claiming the men’s team championship.

Emmanuel cruised to the men’s team title with a meet total of 1,685 points, finishing ahead of New Jersey Institute of Technology (1,082) in second place. Fairfield University compiled 847 points to take third.

Emmanuel’s Alex Sobers and Head Coach Allen Gilchrest were named the Men’s Swimmer of the Meet and Men’s Swimming Coach of the Meet, respectively. Sobers took home four gold medals in individual swims over the three days, set two event records and also helped Emmanuel earn gold in the Men’s 800 Freestyle Medley, 200 Freestyle Medley and 400 Yard Medley Relay.

Matthew Broadmeadow from Manhattan College was awarded Men’s Diver of the Meet award after taking gold in both the Men’s 1-Meter and 3-Meter Dives. Micah Rembrandt, also from Manhattan received the Men’s Diving Coach of the Meet honor.

Emmanuel began the day with a comfortable lead and soon added to their advantage with a gold-medal performance in the Men’s 200 Yard Backstroke by Thiago Rosa (1:49.65). Sobers earned gold (44.83) in the 100 Yard Freestyle while teammate Adrian Aleksandrowicz (46.34) took bronze. Emmanuel concluded the day with their second one, two, three finish of the weekend in the 200 Yard Butterfly. Pedro Illescas came in first with a time of 1:47.29 an event record, Mathieu Danjou (1:53.26) came in second and Santiago Aguilar touched the wall third with a time of 1:53.96. Emmanuel concluded the day by winning the Men’s 400 Yard Freestyle relay by setting a new record with a time of 3:00.76

WOMEN: The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) concluded the 2017 Winter Swimming and Diving Championships on Sunday, with Wagner College claiming their second consecutive women’s team championship.

Wagner posted a three-day total of 1,277.5 points in the women’s competition, finishing ahead of Fairfield University in second place (830) and Long Island University Post in third (696).

Andrea Gustafsson from Wagner College was voted the Women’s Swimmer of the Meet after two first-place individual performances, one first-place team finish and one second-place team showing. Fiona Caulfield of American University received the award for Women’s Diver of the Meet. Caulfield took home gold in the Women’s 1-meter dive and finished second in the 3-Meter dive. Additionally, Wagner’s Colin Shannahan was voted the Women’s Swimming Coach of the Meet with John Barry of American University earning Women’s Diving Coach of Meet.

Wagner started the final session holding an advantage over Fairfield University and Columbia University. They added to their lead when Gustafsson took gold in the Women’s 100 Yard Freestyle with a time of 51.16. Wyeth Spike then finished second in the 200 Yard Butterfly with a time of 2:05.40. In the 400 Yard Freestyle Relay, Wagner took gold with a time of 3:30.26 to conclude the weekend.

There were also some event records that happened in the final session of the championship. Karis Fuller from LIU-Post set a new record in the Women’s 200 Backstroke with a time of 2:01.26. Finally American’s Alex Feys set a new record in the 200 Yard Butterfly with a time of 2:03.04.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments