USA Team To Beat At 2017 Women’s Junior Water Polo Championships

by SwimSwam 0

August 31st, 2017 Water Polo

The 12th edition of the FINA World Women’s Junior Water Polo Championships is taking place in Volos, Greece, from September 3-9, 2017, gathering 16 teams from the five continents.

Contested by athletes of 20 years old and younger, the four group’s composition unfolds as follows:

GROUP A: Japan, Russia, Hungary, Netherlands
GROUP B: China, Australia, South Africa, Greece
GROUP C: Italy, Canada, Serbia, Slovakia
GROUP D: Spain, Croatia, New Zealand, USA

The six-day competition’s schedule is as follows:

USA are the title holder, after clinching gold in Volos (GRE) two years ago, while Spain took silver and Russia bronze, defeating Canada.

Daily game reports will be available on FINA website here

Fédération Internationale de Natation (FINA)

The Fédération Internationale de Natation, founded in 1908, is the governing body for aquatics worldwide. FINA’s five discipline Swimming, Open Water Swimming, Diving, Water Polo and Synchronised Swimming – are all included in the Olympic programme. High Diving made its first appearance in FINA events at the 2013 FINA World Championships. FINA counts 208 affiliated National Federations on the five continents and has its headquarters in Lausanne (SUI).

Leave a Reply

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!