USA Diving Announces FINA Diving Grand Prix Roster for Mission Viejo

by SwimSwam 0

March 28th, 2019 Diving, News

Courtesy: USA Diving

INDIANAPOLIS – With two weeks to go until the FINA Diving Grand Prix returns to the United States for the first time in six years April 11-14, 2019, USA Diving announced Wednesday that 25 divers, including three 2016 Olympians, 11 members of the 2018 World Cup squad and five 2018 Junior World Championships team members, will represent the stars and stripes as they compete at the newly renovated Marguerite Aquatics Center in Mission Viejo, California.

2016 Olympians Amy Cozad Magaña (Indianapolis, Ind.), Jessica Parratto (Dover, N.H./Bloomington, Ind.) and Katrina Young (Shoreline, Wash./Tallahassee, Fla.), will lead Team USA, with Magaña and Young competing in the women’s platform event. Parratto and Young, who both dove in last summer’s 2018 FINA Diving World Cup in Wuhan, China, will contend in the women’s platform synchro. Parratto will team up with World Cup synchro partner Tarrin Gilliland (Midland, Texas), who is also competing in the women’s platform, while Young will partner with World Cup teammate Samantha “Murphy” Bromberg (Bexley, Ohio/Austin, Texas).

Each year, the FINA Diving Grand Prix invites international divers to compete in a series of nine meets and provides world-class competition in countries that have a strong tradition in diving. The United States last hosted a FINA Diving Grand Prix in May 2013 at the Fort Lauderdale Aquatic Complex in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Team USA will also feature two-time 2018 World Cup bronze medalist David Dinsmore (New Albany, Ohio/Miami, Fla.) in the men’s platform, as well as two-time 2018 Junior World Championship silver medalist Hailey Hernandez (Southlake, Texas) and 2018 World Cup bronze medalist Krysta Palmer (Carson City, Nev./Reno, Nev.) in the women’s 3-meter and women’s 3-meter synchro with Alison Gibson (Austin, Texas). Tyler Downs (Ballwin, Mo.), who also picked up a silver medal at last summer’s Junior World Championships will compete in both the men’s platform and men’s platform synchro with Jordan Rzepka (Solon, Ohio).

The Marguerite Aquatics Center, the home of the Mission Viejo Nadadores, officially reopened in April 2018 following an $11 million renovation which included a new dive tower with a full complement of diving platforms. In the backyard of LA 2028, USA Diving, the city of Mission Viejo and the Mission Viejo Nadadores will inspire Olympic hopefuls at the Grand Prix and beyond. Tickets for the 2019 United States FINA Diving Grand Prix are available and additional event information can be found on USA Diving’s events page.

Individual Events

Women’s 3-Meter:                Emily Bretscher                      Hailey Hernandez#^

Lauren Reedy                         Krysta Palmer#

Women’s 10-Meter:              Tarrin Gilliland#                     Olivia Rosendahl

Amy Cozad Magaña*             Katrina Young*#

Men’s 3-Meter:                      Mark Anderson                       Andrew Capobianco#

Briadam Herrera                     Jordan Windle

Men’s Platform:                    Zach Cooper#                         David Dinsmore#

Tyler Downs^                         Brandon Loschiavo#

Synchro Events

Women’s 3-Meter Synchro:            Samantha “Murphy” Bromberg#, Brooke Schultz#

Alison Gibson, Krysta Palmer#

Women’s 10-Meter Synchro:           Samantha “Murphy” Bromberg#, Katrina Young*#

Tarrin Gilliland#, Jessica Parratto*#

Men’s 3-Meter Synchro:                  Mark Anderson, Jordan Windle

Men’s 10-Meter Synchro:                Tyler Downs^, Jordan Rzepka^

Brandon Loschiavo#, Jordan Windle

Mixed Events

Mixed 3-Meter Synchro:                  Jacob Cornish, Meghan O’Brien

Mixed 10-Meter Synchro:                Sophia McAfee^, Max Weinrich^

*2016 Olympian

#2018 FINA Diving World Cup team member

^2018 FINA Diving Junior World Championships team member

Leave a Reply