John Vargas

2022 USA Water Polo Hall Of Fame Class Announced; Induction Set For August 26

USA Water Polo is proud to announce the 38th induction class for the USA Water Polo Hall of Fame.

  Comment First!

Stanford’s Ben Hallock Repeats as Division I Water Polo Player of the Year

Ben Hallock was tabbed as Player of the Year and John Vargas was named Coach of the Year after leading Stanford to the NCAA men’s water polo title.


Stanford’s Ben Hallock Repeats as MPSF Player of the Year

Stanford’s Ben Hallock is the fourth player in MPSF history to repeat as Player of the Year. Cal’s Nikolaos Papanikolaou was honored as Newcomer of the Year.

  Comment First!

Legendary Water Polo Coach Ted Newland Passes Away at 91

The first NCAA water polo coach to accumulate 700 wins and the man who led the UC Irvine men to three national titles and six NCAA runnerup finishes, Edward “Ted” Newland, passed away at the age of 91 on Thursday.

  Comment First!