Swimming Australia Announces 20 Swimmers for 2014 World Short Course Championships

Swimming Australia wasted no time in announcing their 20-swimmer roster for the 2014 Short Course World Championships that will take place in Doha, Qatar.

While missing many of the countries biggest stars from the summer, including Alicia Coutts and Cate Campbell, this is still a strong Australian roster – though the rather low size limit will hurt them in the final medal counts.

The biggest shock is that Emma McKeon, almost certainly because she’s opted not to attend, isn’t on the roster despite winning 5 gold medals at the Short Course National Championships this week.

Specifically, the men’s 400 free relay will be made up of Matthew AboodCameron McEvoy, and Tommaso D’Orsogna for sure, with the fourth spot very much up-for-grabs among a lot of swimmers who were all very good this week in Adelaide, but who aren’t specifically freestylers.

The women’s 400 free relay will be in a similar position without McKeon. Bronte Campbell is a no-braines; but without Brittany Elmslie and Marieke D’Cruz, both of whom were pretty good at the selection meet, the coaches will have to be a little creative. Fortunately, Emily SeebohmLeah Neale, and Madison Wilson, none of whom were selected specifically for the 100 free, are all still very good in the race.


Athlete   Club State
Matthew Abood Sydney University NSW
Bronte Campbell Commercial QLD
Tommaso D’Orsogna Commercial QLD
Ellen Fullerton Nudgee Brothers QLD
Katie Goldman St Peters Western QLD
Jordan Harrison Miami QLD
Sally Hunter Marion SA
Grant Irvine St Peters Western QLD
Mitchell Larkin St Peters Western QLD
Travis Mahoney Nunawading VIC
Cameron McEvoy Palm Beach Currumbin QLD
David Morgan TSS QLD
Leah Neale Indooroopilly QLD
Jake Packard Indooroopilly QLD
Kylie Palmer Indooroopilly QLD
Lesiton Pickett Southport Olympic QLD
Emily Seebohm Nudgee Brothers QLD
Daniel Smith Miami QLD
Brianna Throssell Perth City WA
Madison Wilson St Peters Western QLD
Team Leaders
Jacco Verhaeren Head Coach
Matt Brown Nudgee Brothers QLD
Michael Bohl St Peters Western QLD
Richard Scarce Palm Beach Currumbin QLD
Glenn Baker Southport Olympic QLD
Peter Bishop Marion SA


In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

Emma mcKeon actually opted not to go, as you can see in the list.

Reply to  aswimfan
6 years ago

Is the same for brother David Mckeon and Thomas Fraser-holmes?

M Palota
6 years ago

Congratulations to Daniel Smith! What a story… Junior champion to homeless and addicted to his first National Team!

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »