SEC Announces 2014 Yearly Award Winners; Cieslak, MacLean Swimmers of the Year

The SEC has announced their yearly award winners for swimming & diving for the 2014 season, which were voted on by the conference’s head coaches.

The big awards, Swimmer of the Year, went to Florida’s Marcin Cieslak and Georgia’s Brittany MacLean, both of whom won two NCAA titles each at this year’s national championship meet.

Cieslak’s wins came in the 200 IM and the 100 fly as the Florida men took 3rd as a team (the highest-placing SEC team).

MacLean earned her titles in NCAA-record-breaking fashion in the 500 and 1650 freestyles as the Georgia women won their second-straight team championship. This award follows suit of what the nation’s coaches voted upon as she was honored with the CSCAA National Swimmer of the Year award too.

In coaching awards, as voted on by their peers, Florida’s Gregg Troy won the men’s honor and Texas A&M women’s coach Steve Bultman won for the performance of his team. Troy’s men in addition to their 3rd-place finish at NCAA’s also won the men’s SEC title – their second-straight.

Bultman’s women placed 4th at NCAA’s behind individual event championships from three seniors: Breeja Larson (100 breast), Paige Miller (100 back), and Cammile Adams (200 fly).

This award likely would have gone to Georgia’s Jack Bauerle as the coach of the conference and national championship winning team were it not for the lingering cloud of the NCAA investigation and indefinite suspension.

The full list of honors given out (warning: there’s a lot of them) is below.

2014 SEC Swimming and Diving Awards

Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Gregg Troy, Florida
Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Steve Bultman, Texas A&M

Co-Men’s Diving Coach of the Year: Jeff Shaffer, Auburn
Co-Men’s Diving Coach of the Year: Jamie Sweeney, Missouri
Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Dan Laak, Georgia

Men’s Swimmer of the Year: Marcin Cieslak, Florida
Women’s Swimmer of the Year: Brittany MacLean, Georgia

Men’s Diver of the Year: Mauricio Robles, Tennessee
Women’s Diver of the Year: Laura Ryan, Georgia

Men’s Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Mitch D’Arrigo, Florida
Women’s Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Olivia Smoliga, Georgia

Men’s Freshman Diver of the Year: Jordan Gotro, South Carolina

Men’s Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year: T.J. Leon, Auburn
Men’s Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Brad deBorde, Florida
Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Shannon Vreeland, Georgia

2014 SEC Swimmers and Divers of the Meet (announced at the SEC Championships)

Men’s Swimmer of the Meet: Sebastien Rousseau, Florida
Women’s Swimmer of the Meet: Breeja Larson, Texas A&M

Men’s Diver of the Meet: Ford McLiney, Texas A&M
Women’s Diver of the Meet: Laura Ryan, Georgia

Men’s All-SEC First Team
Marcelo Chierighini, Auburn
Marcin Cieslak, Florida
Kyle Darmody, Auburn
Brad deBorde, Florida
James Disney-May, Auburn
Michael Duderstadt, Auburn
Nicolas Fink, Georgia
Arthur Frayler, Florida
Christian-Paul Homer, Florida
Chase Kalisz, Georgia
Sean Lehane, Tennessee
T.J. Leon, Auburn
Corey Main, Florida
Anton McKee, Alabama
Ford McLiney, Texas A&M
Arthur Mendes, Auburn
Sebastien Rousseau, Florida
John Santeiu, Auburn
Eduardo Solaeche-Gomez, Florida
Dan Wallace, Florida

Men’s All-SEC Second Team
Jack Blyzinskyj, Florida
David Bonuchi, Missouri
Vlad Caciuc, Alabama
Matthew Curby, Florida
Mitch D’Arrigo, Florida
Taylor Dale, Georgia
Greg Ferrucci, Kentucky
Andrew Gemmell, Georgia
Kristian Gkolomeev, Alabama
Zane Grothe, Auburn
BJ Hornikel, Alabama
Matias Koski, Georgia
Gustav Aberg Ledjstrom, Tennessee
Fraser McKean, Auburn
Connor Oslin, Alabama
Luke Percy, Tennessee
Sam Rairden, Tennessee
Doug Reynolds, Georgia
Mauricio Robles, Tennessee
Connor Signorin, Florida
Tristan Slater, Tennessee
Ty Stewart, Georgia
Michael Trice, Georgia
Brett Walsh, Alabama
Pawel Werner, Alabama

Men’s SEC All-Freshman Team
Pace Clark, Georgia
Mitch D’Arrigo, Florida
Taylor Dale, Georgia
Kyle Darmody, Auburn
Michael Duderstadt, Auburn
Brandon Flynn, Kentucky
Jordan Gotro, South Carolina
Cam Jones, Auburn
Anton McKee, Alabama
Connor Oslin, Alabama
Joe Patching, Auburn
Luke Percy, Tennessee
Brent Sagert, Alabama

Women’s All-SEC First Team
Cammile Adams, Texas A&M
Elizabeth Beisel, Florida
Ann-Perry Blank, Georgia
Kaylin Burchell, Alabama
Jessica Graber, Georgia
Lauren Harrington, Georgia
Lili Ibanez-Lopez, Texas A&M
Tori Lamp, Tennessee
Breeja Larson, Texas A&M
Maddie Locus, Georgia
Brittany MacLean, Georgia
Melanie Margalis, Georgia
Amber McDermott, Georgia
Caroline McElhany, Texas A&M
Paige Miller, Texas A&M
Laura Ryan, Georgia
Olivia Smoliga, Georgia
Chantal VanLandeghem, Georgia
Shannon Vreeland, Georgia
Ellese Zalewski, Florida

Women’s All-SEC Second Team
Christina Bechtel, Kentucky
Kelli Benjamin, Texas A&M
Sammie Bosma, Texas A&M
Harper Bruens, Tennessee
Erica Dittmer, Texas A&M
Hali Flickinger, Georgia
Lindsey Gendron, Tennessee
Molly Hannis, Tennessee
Sarah Henry, Texas A&M
Natalie Hinds, Florida
Faith Johnson, Tennessee
Hilda Luthersdottir, Florida
Lindsey McKnight, Florida
Meredith Oliver, Texas A&M
Lauren Reedy, Missouri
Sinead Russell, Florida
Lauren Solernou, Tennessee
Cherelle Thompson, Tennessee
Cassie Weil, LSU
Annie Zhu, Georgia
Rachel Zilinskas, Georgia

Women’s SEC All-Freshman Team
Bridget Blood, Alabama
Kendal Casey, Kentucky
Madison Hudkins, Texas A&M
Taylor Katz, Florida
Lindsay Keahey, Kentucky
Kara Kopcso, LSU
Sycerika McMahon, Texas A&M
Allyx Purcell, Auburn
Olivia Smoliga, Georgia
Ellie Suek, Missouri
Danielle Valley, Florida
Taylor Zablocki, Alabama
Rachel Zilinskas, Georgia

In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!