Race Video: Darian Townsend Wins 200 IM, 2014 Arena Grand Prix at Mesa

Race Video is courtesy of Universal Sports Network, a SwimSwam Partner

Men’s 200 IM – Finals – Reported by SwimSwam

Two scratches in this event left two empty lanes in the B-final. Lochte was one of the favorites to win this race, but is no longer swimming this event tonight. Darian Townsend had control of the race from the dive. He had the lead at the 50, reached the 100 in 56.1, and held on to the finish to win the race with a time of 2:02.07; a three second drop from his morning swim. Jakub Maly was second at 2:03.80, and Michael Weiss touched third with his time of 2:05.19.
Austin Surhoff won the b-final with a time of 2:06.47.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

where did the video go??

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »