Murdoch, Mullen honored at Scottish Swimming’s Night of Celebration

The 2015 Scottish Swimming Awards honored Scotland’s top swimmers Saturday night, with World Champs gold medalists Ross Murdoch and Andrew Mullen leading the way.

Murdoch won the prestigious Nancy Riach Memorial Medal after leading the Scottish delegation at the World Championships in Russia with two medals. His 59.09 in the 100 breast earned him bronze and was a new national record. Meanwhile, he swam in prelims of the mixed 4 x 100 medley relay, which won gold in the finals.

Mullen dominated the IPC World Championships, which took place in front of a home Scottish crowd in Glasgow. Mullen won a whopping four gold medals at IPC Worlds, and was awarded the Disability Swimmer of the Year honor at the Scottish Swimming Awards.

The junior awards went to Duncan Scott and Erin Robertson. Scott was named Junior Male Athlete of the Year and won the WG Todd Prize and Cup after success at Worlds and dominance at the inaugural European Games. He was the most-decorated athlete on Team Great Britain at the latter event.

Robertson was a gold medalist for Scotland at the Commonwealth Youth Games just a few weeks ago, and broke several major breaststroke records.

Here is the full list of award-winners, courtesy of a press release from Scottish Swimming:

Service Provider of the Year:          Aberdeen Sports Village
WG Todd Prize & Cup (Female):    Erin Robertson
WG Todd Prize & Cup (Male):        Duncan Scott
Senior Water Polo Player:             Chantal Guillot
Junior Water Polo Player:              Hannah Edwards
John & Margaret Bell Award:         Gary Ross
Denis Sullivan Memorial Trophy:     Mark Deans
Eian Prentice Memorial Trohpy:     Marshall Illingworth
Synchronised Swimmer of the Year:    Chloe Hunter
Masters Decathlon Award (Female):    Judy Hattle
Masters Decathlon Award (Male):    David Smith
The Jim Anderson Award for Disability Swimmer of the Year: Andrew Mullen
John Gunning Volunteer Award – East:    Andra Laird
John Gunning Volunteer Award – Midland:   Iain Meldrum
John Gunning Volunteer Award – North:    Durno Jessiman
John Gunning Volunteer Award – West:    Carolyn Macdonald
BSCA Junior Coach of the Year:     Elaine Johnston & Steven Tigg
BSCA Coach of the Year:     Ben Higson
Club of the Year:      Aberdeen ASC
JY Coutts Award:      Duncan McKinnell
Nancy Riach Memorial Medal:     Ross Murdoch

In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!