Melanie Marshall Earns BSCA’s Coach Of The Year Award

The annual British Swimming Coaches Association awards were held last weekend where Melanie Marshall was once again named BSCA’s Coach of the Year. Marshall made history last year as the first woman to earn the award forher work with her most successful athlete, Adam Peaty.  Peaty broke the 100m world record at the British Nationals this spring, registering a new mark of 57.92.

This summer at the 2015 FINA World Championships, Peaty swam away with the 50m and 100m breaststroke gold medals, clocking a new world record in the 50m in Kazan. Peaty was also an instrumental component of GBR’s gold medal-winning and world record-setting mixed 400m medley relay.

An accomplished swimmer herself, Marshall represented Great Britain at both the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens and the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.  She has been the City of Derby’s coach for the past 6 years, operating out of Repton School.

Additional Awards:

Coaching Award of Excellence – Jol Finck, Dave McNulty, Ben Higson, James Gibson, Russ Barber, Steve Tigg, Elaine Johnston

Youth Coach of the Year – Sean Balmer, Nathan Hilton

Para Swim Coach of the Year – Glenn Smith

Para Coaching Award of Excellence – Ashley Cox

Lifetime Achievement Awards – Ian Turner, Eleanor Walsh

Alan Hime Memorial Award – Ryan Livingstone

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Brian McGuinness
8 years ago

You forgot to mention Jon Rudd as receiving a Coaching Award of Excellence for his work with Ruta

About Retta Race

Retta Race

Former Masters swimmer and coach Loretta (Retta) thrives on a non-stop but productive schedule. Nowadays, that includes having just earned her MBA while working full-time in IT while owning French 75 Boutique while also providing swimming insight for BBC.

Read More »