LSU Tigers Two Weeks From 2015-2016 Season Opener (Schedule)

Braden Keith
by Braden Keith 0

September 10th, 2015 College, News, SEC

While the 2015 NCAA season will kick off Friday when Gulf Coast neighbors Alabama and Delta State face off in Cleveland Misssissippi, the LSU Tigers are still two weeks away from their competitive season, with a full month to go before their first intercollegiate competition of the 2015-2016 season.

The Tigers will welcome in home-state foes Tulane to begin their journey on October 9th, before again slipping back into three weeks of training.

After that, competition heats up in a hurry with a southwest swing as LSU’s first major meet of the season will be an October 29th dual against Arizona State and their new coach Bob Bowman in Tempe, Arizona. Bowman, the personal coach of Michael Phelps, was recently named the head coach of the 2016 U.S. Olympic Swim Team.

After that, they’ll face a two-day tri against Northern Arizona and Wyoming in Flagstaff to make the most of their trip before returning home for a dual a week later against SMU.

LSU will see Arizona State again from November 19th-21st at the Texas A&M-hosted Art Adamson Invitational, which this year will also include, among others, the Stanford women.

The LSU divers, who were a big portion of their 5th-place women’s finish and 9th-place men’s finish at last year’s SEC Championships, will have a busy winter break, with USA Diving Nationals, the Auburn Diving Invitational, and the Georgia Diving Invitational while the team’s swimmers are focused on winter training.

Coming out of the break will be a two-day dual against Kentucky and Virginia Tech in Lexington, Kentucky to begin the team’s SEC schedule. That will continue into a dual against Missour on January 14th at home, backed up onto a home battle against rivals Texas A&M on January 23rd.

That A&M meet, for the Tigers’ women’s team, will potentially play host to the team’s biggest head-to-head showdowns of the regular season. Specifically, junior Kara Kopcso will see the Aggies’ star sophomore Beryl Gastaldello in the butterfly events. Kopcso has has good success against A&M in past seasons. That meet will also see school record holder Caley Oquist matched up against A&M’s Claire BrandtLaura Norman, and Lisa Bratton in the backstroke races – all four swimmers were NCAA qualifiers last season.

LSU will face mid-major opponents Rice and Houston at the University of Houston to ease their way into the 5-day SEC Championships in Columbia, Missouri from February 16th-20th.

Date Opponent Location (Arena) Time (CT) Results
  Fri, Sep 25 Purple & Gold Intrasquad Baton Rouge, La. (LSU Natatorium)   3:00 p.m.
  Fri, Oct 09 Tulane (W) Baton Rouge, La. (LSU Natatorium)   6:00 p.m.
  Thu, Oct 29 Arizona St. (M) at Tempe, Ariz. (Mona Plummer Aquatic Center)   8:00 p.m.
  Thu, Oct 29 Arizona St. (W) at Tempe, Ariz. (Mona Plummer Aquatic Center)   8:00 p.m.
  Fri, Oct 30 Northern Arizona w/ Wyoming (M, Day 1) at Flagstaff, Ariz. (Wall Aquatic Center)   6:00 p.m.
  Fri, Oct 30 Northern Arizona w/ Wyoming (W, Day 1) at Flagstaff, Ariz. (Wall Aquatic Center)   6:00 p.m.
  Sat, Oct 31 Northern Arizona w/ Wyoming (M, Day 2) at Flagstaff, Ariz. (Wall Aquatic Center)   1:00 p.m.
  Sat, Oct 31 Northern Arizona w/ Wyoming (W, Day 2) at Flagstaff, Ariz. (Wall Aquatic Center)   1:00 p.m.
  Sat, Nov 07 SMU (M) Baton Rouge, La. (LSU Natatorium)   12:00 p.m.
  Sat, Nov 07 SMU (W) Baton Rouge, La. (LSU Natatorium)   12:00 p.m.
  Thu, Nov 19 Art Adamson Invitational (Day 1) at College Station, Texas (Rec Center Natatorium)   TBA
  Fri, Nov 20 Art Adamson Invitational (Day 2) at College Station, Texas (Rec Center Natatorium)   TBA
  Sat, Nov 21 Art Adamson Invitational (Day 3) at College Station, Texas (Rec Center Natatorium)   TBA
  Tue, Dec 15 –
Sun, Dec 20
USA Diving Winter Nationals at Indianapolis, Ind. (IUPUI Natatorium)   TBA
  Wed, Dec 16 Auburn Diving Invitational (Day 1) at Auburn, Ala. (James E. Martin Aquatics Center)   11:00 a.m.
  Thu, Dec 17 Auburn Diving Invitational (Day 2) at Auburn, Ala. (James E. Martin Aquatics Center)   11:00 a.m.
  Fri, Dec 18 Auburn Diving Invitational (Day 3) at Auburn, Ala. (James E. Martin Aquatics Center)   11:00 a.m.
  Sun, Jan 03 Georgia Diving Invitational (Day 1) at Athens, Ga. (Gabrielsen Natatorium)   TBA
  Mon, Jan 04 Georgia Diving Invitational (Day 2) at Athens, Ga. (Gabrielsen Natatorium)   TBA
  Tue, Jan 05 Georgia Diving Invitational (Day 3) at Athens, Ga. (Gabrielsen Natatorium)   TBA
  Fri, Jan 08 Kentucky w/ Virginia Tech (M, Day 1) * at Lexington, Ky. (Lancaster Aquatic Center)   12:00 p.m.
  Fri, Jan 08 Kentucky w/ Virginia Tech (W, Day 1) * at Lexington, Ky. (Lancaster Aquatic Center)   12:00 p.m.
  Sat, Jan 09 Kentucky w/ Virginia Tech (M, Day 2) * at Lexington, Ky. (Lancaster Aquatic Center)   7:00 a.m.
  Sat, Jan 09 Kentucky w/ Virginia Tech (W, Day 2) * at Lexington, Ky. (Lancaster Aquatic Center)   7:00 a.m.
  Thu, Jan 14 Missouri (M) * Baton Rouge, La. (LSU Natatorium)   4:00 p.m.
  Thu, Jan 14 Missouri (W) * Baton Rouge, La. (LSU Natatorium)   4:00 p.m.
Senior Day
  Sat, Jan 23 Texas A&M (M) * Baton Rouge, La. (LSU Natatorium)   11:00 a.m.
  Sat, Jan 23 Texas A&M (W) * Baton Rouge, La. (LSU Natatorium)   11:00 a.m.
spacer
  Fri, Jan 29 Houston, Rice, Tulane (W, Day 1) at Houston, Texas (UH Rec Center)   5:00 p.m.
  Sat, Jan 30 Houston, Rice, Tulane (W, Day 2) at Houston, Texas (UH Rec Center)   11:00 a.m.
  Tue, Feb 16 SEC Championships (Day 1) * at Columbia, Mo. (Mizzou Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.
  Wed, Feb 17 SEC Championships (Day 2) * at Columbia, Mo. (Mizzou Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.
  Thu, Feb 18 SEC Championships (Day 3) * at Columbia, Mo. (Mizzou Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.
  Fri, Feb 19 SEC Championships (Day 4) * at Columbia, Mo. (Mizzou Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.
  Sat, Feb 20 SEC Championships (Day 5) * at Columbia, Mo. (Mizzou Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.
  Mon, Mar 07 NCAA Zone D Diving Regional (Day 1) at College Station, Texas (Rec Center Natatorium)   11:00 a.m.
  Tue, Mar 08 NCAA Zone D Diving Regional (Day 2) at College Station, Texas (Rec Center Natatorium)   11:00 a.m.
  Wed, Mar 09 NCAA Zone D Diving Regional (Day 3) at College Station, Texas (Rec Center Natatorium)   11:00 a.m.
  Thu, Mar 17 NCAA Championships (W, Day 1) at Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.
  Fri, Mar 18 NCAA Championships (W, Day 2) at Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.
  Sat, Mar 19 NCAA Championships (W, Day 3) at Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.
  Thu, Mar 24 NCAA Championships (M, Day 1) at Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.
  Fri, Mar 25 NCAA Championships (M, Day 2) at Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.
  Sat, Mar 26 NCAA Championships (M, Day 3) at Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech Aquatic Center)   10:00 a.m.

 

 

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »