Jaeger named Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, Schmidt is Diver of Year

Michigan senior Connor Jaeger was voted Big Ten Men’s Swimmer of the Year, and Indiana’s Darian Schmidt joins him on the annual awards list as Diver of the Year, the conference announced yesterday.

Jaeger wins the award for the second-straight year. He won the 1650 at the NCAA Championships (also for the second-straight year). At Big Tens, Jaeger won the 500 free, 1650 free and was a member of the NCAA record-setting 800 free relay for Michigan. Dominant the Big Ten over a lengthy stretch now, the Wolverines have now won this award 6 of the past 7 seasons with names like Jaeger, Dan Madwed and Tyler Clary.

Schmidt also won his second consecutive Diver of the Year award. He won 1-meter and 3-meter at Big Tens, plus made the A-final on 3-meter at the NCAA Championships, taking 6th. Schmidt won this award in 2013, and his former Indiana teammate Zac Nees won it the year prior.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!