Indianapolis Sectionals Day 4 Finals Recap: SwimMac Women and NBAC Men Win Respective Sides

by Max Mitchell 0

March 30th, 2015 News

The 2015 Indianapolis Sectionals were held at the IUPUI Natatorium from 3/26/2015-3/30/2105.  The championship meet was contested in LCM over the entirety of the weekend.  Day four finals featured the 200 Individual Medley, Women’s 1500/Men’s 800 Free, and the 100 Freestyle.

For complete results: Click Here

Miranda Tucker of Livonia Community added another sectional title to her weekend tally this time taking the 200 IM (2:15.59).  Tucker stayed even with the field until the 100 meter mark where the breaststroke specialist pulled away with a blistering 37.78 breaststroke split.  Mary Pelton of North Baltimore (2:18.27) and Nora McCullagh of SwimMac (2:19.17) rounded up the top three.

Breastrokers reigned supreme on Sunday night as Jacob Montague of the Grosse Point Gators won the men’s 200 individual medley.  Montague turned 7th at the 100 mark and as Tucker, had minutes before, made his breaststroke move (33.83). Montague (2:06.33) would run down Buese (2:06.49) the final 50 to win the sectional title.  Samet Alkan (2:07.85) of NBAC touched third.

Madison Runge (younger sister of Cal standout Cierra Runge) won the 1500 Freestyle over Erin Earley from the Hopkins Mariners.  Runge (17:00.13) evenly split the entire race erasing the 4 second lead of Earley (17:00.50) over the final 500 meters.  Melissa Pish of Waves Bloomington ran out of pool touching third at 17:01.62.

Ethan Curl of Indiana University was able to hold his 31 second pace the entire middle 600 of the 800 touching first at 8:17.38.  Jared Graham of Penguin Aquatics (8:23.27)  pushed through the first 200 before falling off pace to touch second with Curl’s teammate Timothy Martin (8:25.31)  finishing 3rd.

UCLA commit Mary Pelton (55.81) would out split Carly Mercer (56.26) of Boilermaker Aquatics the final 50 to take the women’s 100 freestyle.  Pelton just missed the sectional record of future Pac 12 rival Amy Bilquist set at last years championships.  Michigan signee Rebecca Postoll (56.68) touched third out beating out 200IM champion Tucker.

Former Arizona star Nimrod Shapira Bar-Or (50.93) was able to hold off Cameron Craig (51.05) of Southern Michigan and future Louisville Cardinal Max Grodecki (51.14) to win the men’s 100 meter freestyle.

Women’s team scores

  1. SwimMAC Carolina 1146.5
  2. North Baltimore Aquatic Club      807
  3. Waves Bloomington/Normal Y S.T 432
  4. Schroeder YMCA Swim Team          363
  5. Berkeley Aquatic Club 309

Men’s team scores

  1. North Baltimore Aquatic Club 932
  2. SwimMAC Carolina                  745
  3. Indiana University 636
  4. Northridge Area Swimming Assoc    330
  5. Cincinnati Marlins 237

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments