Gophers to Induct Four into Aquatics Hall of Fame

by SwimSwam 0

September 28th, 2016 College, News, Press Releases

Four Golden Gopher swimming and diving alumni are being inducted into the Minnesota Aquatics Hall of Fame on Sept. 30 in conjunction with the alumni meet. The athletes being inducted are Jillian Tyler, Stacey Niedenfuer Crosby, Dan Croaston and Martin Zielinski.

The Aquatics Hall of Fame induction will take place at the Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center on Friday night. The alumni meet is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m. An alumni gathering at Sally’s will follow the meet, at 7:30.

After the alumni meet, the Gophers will officially start their season on Oct. 8 with a meet against Florida State and Duke in Tallahassee, Fla. They will return home to host Wisconsin on Oct. 13, in a 4 p.m. meet that will be streamed on BTN Plus.

Minnesota Aquatics Hall of Fame Class of 2016

Dan Croaston
Dan Croaston was a diver at the University of Minnesota from 1998-01. During his time as a Gopher, he was a two-time Big Ten Diver of the Year (2000-01), a three-time Big Ten Diver of the Championships (1999-2001), and a four-time Big Ten Champion. He won the 3-meter conference title three years in a row, and added a 10-meter platform title in 2001.

Croaston still holds a program record on the 1-meter board (403.25), and was an All-American in all three diving events in 2000 and 2001. Croaston also competed at the Olympic trials in 2000 and 2004.

Stacey Niedenfuer Crosby
Stacey Niedenfuer Crosby spent her swimming career at the University of Minnesota between 1989-92. Niedenfuer Crosby was a five-time All-American in relays. She was also a four-time Big Ten Champion, with titles in the 200-yard freestyle relay, the 400-yard freestyle relay and the 50-yard freestyle. She earned an All-Big Ten selection three times, scoring 87 points at the Big Ten meet as a senior.

During her time at the University of Minnesota, Niedenfuer Crosby set program records in the 100 free, the 200 free relay, the 400 free relay and the 800 free relay. She was also a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree.

Jillian Tyler
Jillian Tyler (2008-11) was the 2011 NCAA champion in the 100 breaststroke, and the runner-up in the 100 breast in 2008 and 2009. Aside from being an NCAA champion in the 2011 season, she was also named the Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships. In total, Tyler was an eight-time Big Ten Champion in events including the 200 breast, 100 breast and 400 medley relay. She is tied for the most individual crowns in program history, with a total of six, and earned a total of four All-Big Ten awards. Tyler started off her career on a high note, earning the 2008 Big Ten Freshman of the Year award.

Tyler holds 13 total All-America honors, which is the third most in Gopher women’s swimming history. She set the school long course record in the 100-meter breast (1:07.28), and was part of the school long course record in the 200-medley relay (1:56.59). Tyler also set a Big Ten record in the 100-yard breast (58.08).

Aside from her college swimming career, Tyler swam for her native Canada in the 2008 and 2012 Olympics. In addition to success in the pool, Tyler was a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree during her time at the University of Minnesota.

Martin Zielinski
Martin Zielinski (1996-99) was a 10-time All-American, earning those honors in the 200 medley relay, the 400 medley relay and the 100 butterfly. In 1997, he finished fourth in the 100 fly at the NCAA championships. Zielinski was also a seven-time Big Ten champion in the same events, and he took home three gold medals in 1999. He set a program record in the 100 fly.

Zielinski earned All-Big Ten honors three times. He was also a two-time Academic All-American and a three Academic All-Big Ten honoree.

Courtesy of Gopher Athletics.

Leave a Reply

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!