German Swimming Federation names 23 swimmers for European Juniors

After the announcement of a 31-member strong team for the 2018 European Championships in Glasgow in August, the the German Swimming Federation has also published the team for the European Junior Championships in Helsinki from 4 to 8 July.

23 athletes will participate. Nine athletes managed to qualify for a start in an individual event, more swimmers have been added for a start in a relay. Usually the relay swimmers will also get a chance to compete in individual events.

With Isabel Gose, Celine Rieder and Peter Varjasi three  members of the team for Glasgow are nominated for the junior team. Gose (born 2002) is the fastest 200m freestyle junior swimmer so far in 2018 in Europe (1:58,80), Celine Rieder (born 2001) ranks first in Europe in the 1500m freestyle and Germany’s Anna Elendt (born 2001) is the fastest breaststroke sprinter (50m – 31,43)  in Europe’s youngsters ranking 2018 (Girls 17-year old or younger). Isabel Gose is qualified for the German 4 x 200m freestyle relay for the 2018 Open Class European Championships. Rieder is set to compete in the 1500m freestyle. Rieder ranks on the 19th sport in the current FINA world ranking.

The 23-member DSV team for the JEM in Helsinki:

Girls (13): Alexandra Arlt, Anna Elendt, Mareike Ehring, Giulia Goerigk , Isabel Gose, Malin Grosse, Yara Hierath, Hannah Küchler,, Lucie Kühn, Lena Riedemann, Celine Rieder, Barbara Schaal, Maya Tobehn

Boys (10): Sebastian Beck, Maurice Ingerieth, Lukas Matzerath, Lukas Märtens, Rafael Miroslaw,, Fleming Redemann , Paul Reither, Michael Schäffner, Danny Schmidt, Peter Varjasi






Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments