CMU Swim & Dive Welcome 20 for the 2014-2015 Season

Colorado Mesa University head swimming and diving coach Ron Allen has announced that 11 women and nine men will join the Mavericks for the 2014-15 season. The 20 student-athletes come from seven different states and one foreign country.


Taylor Browns – Evantson, Wyoming (Evanston)
Diving – 3rd at Wyoming State 4A Championships

Hannah Brockie – Colorado Springs, Colo. (Air Academy)
Distance Free

Haley Fellows – Beaverton, Ore. (Sunset)
Breaststroke, Individual Medley – 2012 NW Sectional Champion 200 Breaststroke

Hailey Gerze – Littleton, Colo. (Chatfield)
Sprint Freestyle – First Team All-League

Olivia Hudson – Fairhope, Ala. (Fairhope)
Backstroke, Individual Medley – 3rd in 100 Back and 200 IM at Alabama State Championships

Samantha Lenzmeier – Colorado Springs, Colo. (Liberty)
Individual Medley and Breaststroke – Senior Zones 2012, 2013

Hannah Mabile – Frisco, Texas (Lone Star)
Sprint Free and Backstroke – Texas All-State Team in 50 Free and 100 Back

Abbie Porter – Flower Mound, Texas (Flower Mound)
Distance Free and Individual Medley

Mary Saiz – Pueblo, Colo. (transfer from University of Utah)
Backstroke and Sprint Freestyle – 5-time CO High School State Champ and 12th at Junior Nationals in 200 Back

Katelin Staab – Folsom, Calif. (Vista del Lago)
Butterfly and Individual Medley – San Joaquin Section Qualifier

Kendall Wingfield – Broomfield, Colo. (Broomfield)
Sprint Free – Top-16 at Colorado State Meet in 50 and 100 Free, Academic All-State


Joshua Bedford – Aurora, Colo. (Cherokee Trail)
Breaststroke and Individual Medley – 2nd at Colorado 5A State Meet in 100 Breaststroke

Riccardo Caldeira – Fort Pierce, Fla. (Indian River State College)
Butterfly and Individual Medley

Sage D’Ambrosia – Loveland, Colo. (Thompson Valley)

Jason Hicks – Fort Collins, Colo. (Poudre)
Sprint Free – 7th at 5A Colorado State Championships in 100 Free

Skyler Hirsch – Lahaina, Hawaii
Sprint Free and Butterfly – Hawaii State Champion in 50 Free and 5th at Western Sectionals in 50 Free, Academic All-American, Captain National Honor Society

Kristopher Kolde – Southlake, Texas (Southlake)
Sprint Free and Backstroke

Nicolas Pinto – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Ensino Medio)
Breaststroke, Individual Medley

Justin Ortiz – Fort Pierce, Fla. (Indian River State College)
Sprint Freestyle and Butterfly

Wesley Stutzman – Windsor, Colo. (Fossil Ridge)
Mid.-Distance Free, Backstroke

The Mavericks will open the 2014-15 season with the Maroon and Black Intersquad/Alumni Meet on Sept. 27. The team will host the Intermountain Shootout Oct. 3-4 and the CMU Invitational on Dec. 4-6. Colorado Mesa will host the Bill and Peggy Foster Duals January 23-24 and the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Championships Feb. 11-14. The complete schedule can be found here (men) (women).

College Swimming News courtesy of CMU Swimming and Diving.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »