Cleveland State Wins 27 Events in Sweep of Ashland

Cleveland State at Ashland

  • Dec. 8, 2018
  • Results
  • Men: Cleveland State def. Ashland 164-107
  • Women: Cleveland State def. Ashland 182-96

Courtesy: Cleveland State Athletics

ASHLAND, Ohio – The Cleveland State University men’s and women’s swimming & diving teams successfully closed the 2018 calendar year Saturday as both squads picked up victories at Ashland inside Messerly Natatorium.

The CSU men won 164-107, winning 13 events, while the Viking women claimed a 182-96 win, winning 14 total events.

There were strong diving performances by both genders for CSU Saturday.

Sophomore Matt Akers won on both boards against the Eagles, surpassing NCAA qualifying standards in both events. He scored 309.00 points in the 1-meter and a career-high 331.87 points in the 3-meter.

Senior Curtis Roden also reached the NCAA standard in the 3-meter with 321.75 points while freshman Kyle Campbell had the second-highest score in the 1-meter event with a season-best 281.32 points.

Sophomore Erica Henrichsen won both diving events on the women’s side for CSU. She tallied a career-high 250.72 points in the 1-meter event and led the 3-meter competition with 226.50 points.

Sophomores Shaw Barney and Irena Weclawiak both won two individual events for the Viking women Saturday.

Barney won the 50 backstroke in 28.72 seconds and also stopped the clock first in the 100 IM in 1:02.49. Junior Gabriella Marinelli had the second-fastest time in the 100 IM in 1:03.57. Barney was CSU’s top finisher in the 150 backstroke, taking second in 1:37.29.

Weclawiak won a pair of freestyle events, winning the 50 in 25.17 seconds and finishing first in the 200 in 1:58.48.

CSU also won the other three freestyle events Saturday to sweep all five on the day. Freshman Riley Drummond won the 100 (55.34), senior Molly McNamara won the 500 (5:20.01) and Marinelli was victorious in the 1000 (10:55.35). Freshman Stephanie Sipple was the runner-up in the 1000 in 11:07.30.

Sipple won the 150 butterfly in 1:37.31 while junior Lauren Frank was the top Viking in the 50 fly, taking second in 28.88 seconds.

Sophomore Libby Smith won the 150 breaststroke in 1:47.42.

Junior Madi Jaszcz won an individual event and also swam on a winning relay. She was first in the 50 breaststroke in 32.24 seconds.

Seniors Michaela Bargardi, Morgan Massie, Emma Flynn and Jaszcz won the 200 medley relay in 1:53.46.

CSU also won the 200 free relay in 1:42.46 as senior Cassandra Oltman, Flynn, Weclawiak and Drummond comprised the quartet.

Senior Addison Kaufmann won two individual events Saturday and also swam on a winning relay to lead the CSU men.

Kaufmann won the 150 breaststroke in 1:38.46 and also touched the wall first in the 100 IM in 56.58 seconds. Freshman Mason Romstadt had the second-fastest time in the 100 IM (57.23).

Romstadt and Kaufmann led off the winning 200 medley relay while sophomore Patrick Lance and senior Jared Stergar swam the back half. The quartet won in 1:39.16.

Senior Sean Mulvin won the 50 breaststroke in 28.62 seconds to help CSU sweep the top three spots. Sophomore Josh Hodges was second (28.85) and senior Jason van der Touw was third (29.13).

Juniors Dominic Poletta and Erwan Mahoudo swept the backstroke events for CSU. Poletta won the 50 backstroke (24.81) while Mahoudo won the 150 back (1:24.34). Junior Sam Sawyer was the runner-up in the latter event in 1:25.45 while Mahoudo took second in the 50 fly (24.08).

Sophomores Ryan Sedlak and Dominik Niedzialek and junior DJ Arslanian swept the shorter end of the freestyle events. Sedlak won the 50 (21.84), Niedzialek won the 100 (48.11) and Arslanian won the 200 (1:45.37). Juniors Tyler Stevenson (22.00 and Matthew Martin (48.72) were the runners-up in the 50 and the 100, respectively.

Freshman Jack Krusinski won the 150 butterfly in 1:23.82 while senior MacJilton Lewis was second in 1:25.61.

CSU’s 200 freestyle relay that featured junior Jack MacDonald, Poletta, sophomore Timothy Kubacki and Stevenson had the fastest time in the event (1:26.53).

Cleveland State will resume action in the New Year in a Horizon League tri-dual hosted by IUPUI on the second weekend of January.

Courtesy: Ashland Athletics

Ashland University’s men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams both lost at home to Cleveland State on Saturday (Dec. 8) afternoon.

The Eagle men lost 182-96, and the AU women lost 164-107.

Ashland earned six event wins on the day. Freshman Franci Aleksi finished first in the men’s 1,000-yard freestyle with a time of 9:39:09. Freshman Matt Filsinger finished second in the event (9:48:05).

Aleksi won another event in the men’s 500 free (4:43:57). Filsinger earned a second-place finish in the event (4:45:28), and senior Lucas Oliveira finished third (4:50:86), as the Eagles swept the top three spots.

Senior Keegan Goeke won the 50 butterfly in 23.87 seconds, and was runner-up in the 50 backstroke (25.02 seconds).

Wrapping up the winning on the men’s side was the 200 free relay comprised of Goeke, junior Ben Keilholz, sophomore Grant Stahl, and freshman Nikakis Panagiotis (1:28:26). Second in the 200 free relay also was an Eagle squad – freshman Jacob Keilholz, freshman Kyle Feuerstine, Oliveira and sophomore Peter Reventlow (1:36.50).

Panagiotis was second in the men’s 200 free in 1:48.17, while junior Daniel Callis was runner-up in the 150 breaststroke (1:40.20) and 100 individual medley (1:00.83).

On the women’s side, freshman Michaela Godfrey won the 150 back (1:35:95), and junior Julia Grady won the 50 butterfly (28.02 seconds).

Earning second-place finishes were sophomore Tara Stevens in the 200 free (1:59.05), Godfrey in the 50 back (29.11 seconds), Grady in the 50 free (25.59 seconds), freshman Abigail Ellsworth in the 100 free (56.48 seconds) and 100 IM (1:05.60), sophomore Brenda Neves in the 150 breaststroke (1:53.87), junior Erin Staley in the 500 free (5:31.65), and the 200 free relay team of Grady, junior Sophie Brightman, junior Destiny Camp and Godfrey (1:44.72).

Ashland’s action is wrapped up until the new year, as the men and women will play host to Tiffin and Ursuline’s women on Jan. 11 at 5 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments