China, Colombia, Great Britain & Japan All Win At Diving Grand Prix

by SwimSwam 0

May 08th, 2017 Diving, News

Divers from China, Colombia, Great Britain and Japan won at least one gold medal this weekend in San Juan, Puerto Rico, where the third meet of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2017 was held.

Latin American Sebastian Morales of Colombia proved the strongest in the men’s 3m with 469.70 points, while China’s Liu Chengming (462.30) was second and Jordan Windle (USA, 424.00) third.

In the 10m, it was Great Britain’s Matthew Lee grabbing the gold at stake with 429.95, while China pocketed silver and bronze with Xu Zewei (484.85) and Tai Xiaohu (408.95) respectively.

Great Britain was atop of the 3m synchro with Freddy Woodward / James Heatly (372.72), as 3m winner Morales placed second with partner Alejandro Arias Munoz in 361.17. New Zealand’s duet Anton Down-Jenkins / Liam Stone completed the podium with 345.60.

Diving powerhouse China came back strong with a win in the men’s 10m (Xu Zewei / Tai Xiaohu, 421.08), defeating USA’s  Jordan Windle / Ryan Hawkins (355.41) and the Colombians Juan Sebastian Reyes / Erick Caicedo Ruiz (353.58).

China’s breakthrough continued in the women’s competition with four victories, 3m, 10m and both synchronised events (detailed results below) as well as a silver medal in the 3m.

Japan’s mixed pair Nishida Reo / Hazuki Miyamoto topped the 3m with 245.04 and Matthew Lee / Robyn Birch (GBR, 281.76) won the 10m version of the mixed event.

France, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, Singapore and the USA were the other nations on the podium in San Juan.

The 2017 Diving Grand Prix will resume at the end of the month in Madrid (ESP) from May 26-28.

Medallists in San Juan

3m – 1. Sebastian Morales Mendoza (COL) 469.70; 2. Liu Chengming (CHN) 462.30; 3. Jordan Windle (USA) 424.00
10m – 1. Matthew Lee (GBR) 429.95; 2. Xu Zewei (CHN) 484.85; 3. Tai Xiaohu (CHN) 408.95
3m synchro – 1. Freddy Woodward / James Heatly (GBR) 372.72; 2. Alejandro Arias Munoz / Sebastian Morales (COL) 361.17; 3. Anton Down-Jenkins / Liam Stone (NZL) 345.60
10m synchro – 1. Xu Zewei / Tai Xiaohu (CHN) 421.08; 2. Jordan Windle / Ryan Hawkins (USA) 355.41; 3. Juan Sebastian Reyes / Erick Caicedo Ruiz (COL) 353.58

3m – 1. Chen Yiwen (CHN) 356.60; 2. Huang Xiaohui (CHN) 324.30; 3. Rin Kaneto (JPN) 295.20
10m – 1. Liu Xin (CHN) 340.60; 2. Laura Marino (FRA) 283.70; 3. Ingrid Oliveira (BRA) 275.35
3m synchro – 1. Liu Lingrui / Huang Xiaohui (CHN) 312.90; 2. Hazuki Miyamoto / Sayaka Mikami (JPN) 256.68; 3. Qian Yu Goh / Elizabeth Cui (NZL) 237.60
10m synchro – 1. Liu Xin / Zhang Rui (CHN) 304.86; 2. Shen-Yan Freida Lim / Myra Jia Wen Lee (SGP) 246.86

3m – 1. Nishida Reo / Hazuki Miyamoto (JPN) 245.04; 2. Emanuel Vazquez / Jeniffer Fernandez Gonzalez (PUR) 239.04; 3. Yu Qian Goh / Anton Down-Jenkins (NZL) 211.50
10m – 1. Matthew Lee / Robyn Birch (GBR) 281.76; 2. Shen-Yan Freida Lim / Jonathan Chan (SGP) 254.52

Diving Grand Prix 2017 calendar

1. Rostock (GER): February 24-26
2. Gatineau (CAN): April 6-9
3. San Juan (PUR): May 4-7
4. Madrid (ESP): May 26-28
5. Bolzano (ITA): July 5-7
6. Kuala Lumpur (MAS): October 26-29
7. Singapore (SGP): November 2-5
8. Gold Coast (AUS): November 9-11

Fédération Internationale de Natation (FINA)

The Fédération Internationale de Natation, founded in 1908, is the governing body for aquatics worldwide. FINA’s five discipline Swimming, Open Water Swimming, Diving, Water Polo and Synchronised Swimming – are all included in the Olympic programme. High Diving made its first appearance in FINA events at the 2013 FINA World Championships. FINA counts 207 affiliated National Federations on the five continents and has its headquarters in Lausanne (SUI).

News courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!