Cate Campbell Sweeps Swimming Australia’s Swimmer of the Year Awards

As part of their Aquatic Super Series weekend in Perth, Western Australia this weekend, Swimming Australia has also announced the winners of its major awards.

It will come as no surprise that female sprint star Cate Campbell came away as the big winner at the convention. She won a total of four awards, including a trifecta of Swimmer of the Year Awards.

Campbell earned the Peoples’ Choice award, voted on by the fans; the Swimmers’ Swimmer of the Year award, voted on by fellow athletes; and the Swimmer of the Year award, bestowed by the federation itself.

Finally healthy and settled in to a stretch of solid training, Campbell exploded in 2013. She was the World Champion in the 100 free, and also won silvers in the 50 free, and as part of the 400 free and 400 medley relays. She also stands as the fastest woman ever in textile over 100 meters.

Campbell also received the “Golden Moment” award for her win in the 100 free at Worlds.

Other major winners include Jordan Harrison, who was named the Australian Institute of Sport Discovery of the Year; Coach of the year Simon Cusack; and Short Course Swimmer of the Year Bobby Hurley, who swam extremely well in the FINA World Cup series.

Award Winner
Roger Smith Technical Official of the Year Don Alchin
Club of the Year Campbelltown
Local Legend of the Year Angela Oldsen from the Silver City Swim Club SA
Australian Institute of Sport Discovery of the Year Jordan Harrison
Hancock Prospecting Age Group Coach of the Year Craig Jackson
Hancock Prospecting Multi Class Coach of the Year Peter Bishop
Hancock Family Medical Foundation Open Water Coach of the Year Matt Magee
Coach of the Year Simon Cusack
Swimming Australia All Star Team See Below
Local Legend Angela Oldsen
Club of the Year Campbelltown, NSW
Speedo Golden Moment of the Year Cate Campbell
Short Course Swimmer of the Year Robert Hurley
Open Water Swimmer of the Year Simon Huitenga
Multi Class Swimmer of the Year Matt Cowdrey
People’s Choice Award Cate Campbell
Swimmers’ Swimmer of the Year Cate Campbell
Swimmer of the Year Cate Campbell


2013 Swimming Australia ALL STAR Team

Jessica Ashwood                                                              Jordan Harrison

Bronte Barratt                                                                   Belinda Hocking

Cate Campbell                                                                   Simon Huitenga

Blake Cochrane                                                                 Grant Irvine

Alicia Coutts                                                                       Matson Lawson

Matthew Cowdrey                                                          James Magnussen

Ashley Delaney                                                                 David McKeon

Katherine Downie                                                           Keryn McMaster

Maddison Elliott                                                               Leiston Pickett

Sally Hunter (nee Foster)                                             Emily Seebohm

Thomas Fraser-Holmes                                                 Christian Sprenger

Melissa Gorman                                                               Daniel Tranter

Madeline Groves                                                             Teigan Van Roosmalen

Brenden Hall                                                                      Chris Wright



Swimmer of the Year past winners: 

1990 Glen Housman QLD
1991 Hayley Lewis QLD
1992 Kieren Perkins QLD
1993 Kieren Perkins QLD
1994 Kieren Perkins QLD
1995 Susan O’Neill QLD
1996 Susan O’Neill QLD
1997 Michael Klim VIC
1998 Michael Klim VIC
1999 Ian Thorpe NSW
2000 Ian Thorpe NSW
2001 Ian Thorpe NSW
2002 Ian Thorpe NSW
2003 Ian Thorpe & Grant Hackett NSW /QLD
2004 Jodie Henry QLD
2005 Grant Hackett QLD
2006 Leisel Jones QLD
2007 Libby Lenton QLD
2008 Stephanie Rice QLD
2009 Jessicah Schipper QLD
2010 Alicia Coutts QLD
2011 James Magnussen NSW
2012 Alicia Coutts QLD
2013 Cate Campbell QLD

In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!