Bar Soloveychik’s Record Performance Leads To Big Ten Men’s Swimmer of the Week Honors

by SwimSwam 0

February 01st, 2023 Big Ten, College, News

Courtesy: Big Ten

Men’s Swimmer of the Week
Bar Soloveychik, Minnesota
So. – Kiryat Motzkin, Israel – Israeli Swimming Federation

  • Broke the oldest record on the Minnesota men’s side when he swam the 1,000 Free in a victorious time of 8:54.69, shaving over a second off the previous mark of 8:56.27.
  • Time also set the pool mark at Northwestern’s Norris Aquatics Center with the second fastest time in the Big Ten and sixth in the NCAA this season.
  • Won the 500 Free in 4:19.43 and was part of the winning 800 Free Relay team (6:25.80).
  • Achieved NCAA B cut times in the 200, 500 and 1,000 Free events.
  • Garners his first career Swimmer of the Week award.
  • Last Minnesota Swimmer of the Week: Max McHugh (Feb. 1, 2022)

Men’s Diver of the Week
Carson Tyler, Indiana
So. – Moultrie, Ga. – Colquitt County

  • Scored a pair of top-two finishes, as Indiana topped No. 17 Louisville.
  • Set a pool record on the 3-meter springboard with a 431.40, the highest score in the Big Ten this season.
  • Finished second on the 1-meter springboard, posting the league’s fourth best score of the season, 358.25.
  • Both scores achieved NCAA Zone Qualifying scores.
  • Garners his fourth career Diver of the Week award and second in a row.
  • Last Indiana Diver of the Week: Carson Tyler (Jan. 25, 2023)

Men’s Freshman of the Week
Dominik Mark Torok
Budapest, Hungary – Ferencvarosi Sport Altalanos Iskola Es Gimnazium

  • Scored an individual event win for the third consecutive week.
  • Won the 200 Fly in 1:46.06, the 13th fastest time in the conference, helping the Badgers split a tri-meet against Pitt and No. 17 Michigan.
  • Finished second in the 200 IM, reaching the wall in 1:49.11.
  • Earns his second career Freshman of the Week honor.
  • Last Wisconsin Freshman of the Week: Dominik Mark Torok (Oct. 26, 2022)

2022-23 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Weekly Honorees

Oct. 19
S: Victor Baganha, PSU
D: Jordan Rzepka, PUR
F: Mariano Lazzerini, PSU

Oct. 26
S: Brendan Burns, IND
D: Quinn Henninger, IND
F: Dominik Mark Torok, WIS

Nov. 2
S: Charlie Clark, OSU
D: Jack Matthews, OSU
F: Tristan Jankovics, OSU

Nov. 9
S: Wyatt Davis, MICH
D: Cameron Gammage, MICH
F: Eitan Ben-Shitrit, MICH

Nov. 16
S: Ruslan Gaziev, OSU
D: Clayton Chaplin, OSU
F: Alex Axon, OSU

Nov. 23
S: Ruslan Gaziev, OSU
D: Quinn Henninger, IND
F: Eitan Ben-Shitrit, MICH

Nov. 30
No awards

Dec. 7
S: Jake Newmark, WIS
D: Drew Bennett, MINN
F: Alberto Hernandez, MINN

Jan. 4
S: Andrew Benson, WIS

Jan. 11
D: Drew Bennett, MINN
F: Drew Bennett, MINN

Jan. 18
S: Alex Quach, OSU
D: Andrew Capobianco, IND
F: Sam Campbell, OSU

Jan. 25
S: Eduardo Cisternas, PSU
D: Carson Tyler, IND
F: Cooper Morley, PSU

Feb. 1
S: Bar Soloveychik, MINN
D: Carson Tyler, IND
F: Dominik Mark Torok, WIS

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments