Australia names 30 to IPC World Championship team

30 para-swimmers will represent Australia at this summer’s IPC World Championships in Glasgow, Scotland. The squad was selected at the conclusion of the Australian Swimming Championships this week.

That team includes returning Paralympians Blake Cochrane, Ellie Cole, Brendan Hall and Jacqui Freney, each of whom bettered 2014’s #1 overall time in at least one event this past weekend.

Cochrane, a para-swimming veteran, broke the world record for the S8 100 breaststroke at Australian Nationals. Cole and Freney are successfully returning to the sport after some time off, and will join Cochrane and Hall on the roster.

The IPC World Championships will take place from July 13-19 in Glasgow, Scotland. Here’s Australia’s full roster:

The Australian Dolphins Swim Team for the 2015 IPC World Championships

First Name Last Name Age Club State
Michael Anderson 27 Flinders of Buderim QLD
Timothy Antalfy 28 Hunters Hill NSW
Jesse Aungles 19 Marion SA
Blake Cochrane 24 Southern Cross QLD
Ellie Cole 23 Castle Hill NSW
Taylor Corry 20 Nelson Bay NSW
Timothy Disken 18 PLC Aquatic VIC
Madison Elliott 16 Newcastle University NSW
Daniel Fox 23 Chandler QLD
Jacqueline Freney 22 Richmond Valley NSW
Brenden Hall 21 Lawnton QLD
Guy Harrison-Murray 17 Perth City WA
Timothy Hodge 14 The Hills NSW
Tanya Huebner 36 Melbourne Vicentre VIC
Braedan Jason 16 Alexandria Headlands QLD
Ahmed Kelly 23 Melbourne Vicentre VIC
Matthew Levy 28 Cranbrook Eastern Edge NSW
Ashleigh McConnell 19 Melbourne Vicentre VIC
Monique Murphy 20 Melbourne Vicentre VIC
Andrew Pasterfield 25 Cranbrook Eastern Edge NSW
Grant Patterson 25 Central Cairns QLD
Lakeisha Patterson 16 Kawana Waters QLD
Rick Pendleton 30 Flinders of Buderim QLD
Sean Russo 23 Menai NSW
Madeleine Scott 22 Leisurepark Lazers WA
Jacob Templeton 19 Devonport TAS
Tiffany Thomas-Cane 13 Ravenswood NSW
Teigan Van Roosmalen 23 Mingara NSW
Prue Watt 28 Cranbrook Eastern Edge NSW
Regan Wickens 20 SLC Aquadot NSW


You can read Swimming Australia’s full press release on the subject here. The press release also includes this section with some pertinent information about the roster:



Team Size – 30 (18 Male; 12 Female)

Rookies – Guy Harrison Murray, Timothy Hodge, Braedan Jason, Ashleigh McConnell, Monique Murphy, Tiffany Thomas-Cane

Oldest Team Members – Rick Pendleton (30); Tanya Huebner (36)

Youngest Team Members – Timothy Hodge (14); Tiffany Thomas-Cane (13)

Most years on an Australian team – Matthew Levy (12); Prue Watt (12); Rick Pendleton (11)


Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 years ago

I would love to see the US Paralympic Swimming Team chosen at our Olympic Trials! It has been inspiring and exciting to watch the livestream of Australia’s LC Nation prelims (which included the athletes listed above). I think it would be a wonderful way to promote and celebrate the fact that swimming is a sport for our ENTIRE country, not just gifted athletes like Phelps and Franklin. I think it would also serve to put things into perspective; as much as we’d love our athletes to win Olympic gold, the primary goal of our sport is improving the HEALTH and well-being of US citizens. Televising the Paralympic Trials along with OT would undoubtedly get a lot of people to ask… Read more »

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »