5 Fun Facts about the FINA/NVC Diving World Series

Stay informed!

Follow the live streaming on FINAtv or the live info feed offering real-time updates of the Monterrey leg of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series. Click here to access the live info feed.

WHAT: FINA/NVC Diving World Series featuring the best divers from previous Olympic Games, FINA World Championships and FINA Diving World Cups.

WHO: 80 divers from the strongest nations in the sport

WHEN: Friday June 6 – Sunday June 8, 2014

WHERE: Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon, Monterrey (MEX)

COMPETITION: Men’s and women’s 3m springboard and 10m platform, individual and synchro (8 events)

PRIZE MONEY: USD $96’000 for medallists in each of the 8 events

OVERALL WINNER PRIZE MONEY: USD $696’000 divided between top-6 in each event

ABOUT THE WORLD SERIES: This annual event was launched in 2007. Monterrey (MEX) is the last stop of the 2014 six-leg circuit after Beijing (CHN), Dubai (UAE), London (GBR), Moscow (RUS) and Windsor (CAN).


1. Men’s 3m springboard – He Chong (CHN) won 11 World Series events in 3m springboard. He and (CHN) share the record for most wins in this discipline, which He can still improve in this year’s competition.

2. Women’s 3m springboard – China won 25 consecutive World Series events in women’s 3m springboard, equalling the longest streak in any discipline in World Series history, 25 wins in women’s 10m synchro.

3. 10m Platform – Chinese platform divers (either gender) have collected 99 medals in the World Series, equalling that of 3m springboard.

4. 10m Platform Men – China won 28 of the 31 events in 10m platform at the World Series, making it China’s most dominant men’s event. Next best: 3m springboard (25). The three non-Chinese winners of this discipline are Victor Minibaev (RUS) and Tom Daley (GBR, twice).

5. 10m Platform Women – China and Mexico are the only countries to have won the women’s 10m platform in the World Series. China won 28 of the 31 events with Paola Espinosa (MEX) claiming the other three.

Swimming news / diving news courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!