Race Video: Vyatchanin wins 200 Back, 2014 Arena Grand Prix at Mesa, 1:58.04

Race Video is courtesy of Universal Sports Network, a SwimSwam partner.

Men’s 200 Backstroke – Finals – Reported by SwimSwam

Arkady Vyatchanin had a very strong first 100, and held onto his lead with unmatched under waters to win the race with a 1:58.04. Tyler Clary, the defending Olympic Champion, finished second with a 1:59.26. Three college swimmers finished in 3-5. Ryan Murphy, the NCAA Champion in both backstroke distances, finished third with a 2:00.27. Grigory Tarasevich from Louisville finished fourth at 2:00.32, and Jacob Pebley was fifth with his time of 2:00.82.

Brock Bonetti won the B-final with a 2:06.24.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Steve Nolan
7 years ago

Was Ogren’s start (lane 8) legal? I know you can have your feet above the waterline when the pads extend up, but I dunno what the rule is when they’re right at the surface of the water.

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »