Penn State Swimming & Diving Announces 2021-22 Schedule

by SwimSwam 3

October 01st, 2021 College, News

Courtesy: Penn State Athletics

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – The Penn State Men and Women’s Swimming and Diving teams have announced their 2021-2022 schedule. The Nittany Lions will compete in 14 meets, with three at home and 11 on the road.

“Our team has put in a block of focused work since they stepped on campus this fall,” said Head Coach Tim Murphy. “Our intentions are to be a better team both in and out of the pool and move the program forward. We are extremely excited for our meet schedule this year. Over the course of the season, we will swim and dive against six different conferences. Each competition both home and away will present unique challenges for our women’s and men’s teams.”

Penn State begins the 2021-2022 season on Saturday, October 9 hosting Navy at 12 p.m. in McCoy Natatorium.

“Opening with the Naval Academy will be a very good test to start the season,” said Murphy. “Our mid-season invite in Greensboro will be against some of the top teams in the country. We are extremely grateful for the opportunity to have a complete meet schedule this year with family and friends in the stands.

The Nittany Lions travel to West Virginia the following Friday and Saturday, October 15-16. The women’s team competes at 6 p.m. on Friday and the and the men’s team competes the next day at 11 a.m.

The women’s team heads to Liberty on Friday, October 29 and Saturday, October 30 while the men’s team faces Ohio State, Virginia Tech and Indiana, in Columbus, during the same two-day period.

The following Saturday, November 6, the men’s team welcomes Bloomsburg to McCoy Natatorium.

Penn State heads back on the road to Greensboro, N.C. for the NC State Invitational. Both the men’s and women’s teams will compete in the three-day event from Thursday, November 18-Saturday, November 20.

On Friday, January 7, the blue and white travels to Army West Point.

The Nittany Lions head to Virginia Tech for a two-day meet on Friday, January 21-Saturday, January 22.

Penn State concludes the regular season the following week on Friday, January 28. The Nittany Lions return home for a Senior Day against Villanova.

Penn State begins the postseason at Wisconsin for the Women’s Big Ten Championships. The Nittany Lions swim in the four-day meet on Wednesday, February 16-Saturday, February 19. The men’s team will compete the following week at the Big Ten Championships from Wednesday, February 23-Saturday, February 26.

The Nittany Lions conclude the postseason at respective Men and Women’s NCAA Championships at Georgia Tech. The women’s team competes on Wednesday, March 16-Saturday, March 19. The men’s team swims the following week on Wednesday, March 23-Saturday, March 26.

Dates and times are subject to change. Check out our schedule page on GoPSUSports.com for the latest information.

Follow along with the team on our social media pages on Instagram (@pennstateswimdive), Twitter (@PennStateSWIM) and Facebook (pennstateswimminganddiving).

3
Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of

3 Comments
newest
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Swim Fan
1 year ago

Penn State avoiding competing against the Big 10? On the girls side completely. Is this to avoid the travel team size restrictions?

B1G time
Reply to  Swim Fan
1 year ago

Or a beat down

Darnell Hayes
Reply to  Swim Fan
1 year ago

Let’s be honest….Me thinks Murph is enjoying his last year at PSU prior to retirement. Schedule a few easy meets and ride off into the mountains of Nittanyville