Missy Franklin, Ryan Lochte Named FINA World Swimmers of the Year

FINA have named Ryan Lochte and Missy Franklin as their 2011 World Swimmers of the Year to match the pair’s winning of the American honors at the recent Golden Goggles Awards.

Lochte won on the merits of his 6 World Championship Gold Medals, including the big one – the 200 IM with the first post-suit World Record. His main competition for the award was China’s Sun Yang, who also broke a World Record in the 1500 free at Worlds.

Franklin was the breakout star of 2011 on the world stage, including a 200 backstroke World Championship in long course, a 200 free #1 World Ranking, and a World Record in the 200 backstroke in short course meters. She’s not done yet either: with a bit of a rest before the Duel in the Pool, more World Records are bound to go down for her there as well. Federica Pellegrini and Rebecca Soni, among others, could have also been in contention.

In open water, Germany’s Thomas Lurz (winner of the 10km World Cup series, World Champ in 5k) and Britain’s Keri-Anne Payne (World Champion of the 10k) won the honors. Ironically, Payne was named the best in her sport in the world, but in a ridiculous list couldn’t even earn a nomination for top 10 in her own country.

Lausanne (SUI), December 5, 2011 – The best nine Athletes of the Year 2011 were selected by FINA for its five aquatic disciplines. In an initiative promoted by its “FINA Aquatics World Magazine”, and after collecting the votes from FINA’s 202 National Member Federations, media and aquatic experts, the list of the best competitors includes:


Men: Ryan Lochte (USA)
2011 World Champion in the 200m free, 200m back, 200m IM, 400m IM, 4x200m free; WR in the 200m IM
Women: Melissa (“Missy”) Franklin (USA)
2011 World Champion in the 200m back, 4x200m free, 4x100m medley; silver medallist in the 4x100m free; bronze medallist in the 50m back


Men: Qiu Bo (CHN)
2011 World Champion in the 10m platform (individual and synchro); 2011 World Series overall winner (10m platform)
Women: Wu Minxia (CHN)
2011 World Champion in the 3m springboard (individual and synchro); 2011 World Series overall winner (3m springboard synchro)


Men: Filip Filipovic (SRB)
2011 World Championships silver medallist; 2011 World League winner
Women: Alexandra Asimaki (GRE)
2011 World Champion


Natalia Ishchenko/Svetlana Romashina (RUS)
2011 World Champions in Duet


Men: Thomas Lurz (GER)
2011 World Champion in the 5km; silver medallist in the 10km; 2011 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup overall winner
Women: Keri-Anne Payne (GBR)
2011 World Champion in the 10km

In This Story

Leave a Reply

2 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
3 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Great choices! Love them both! They are great for swimming. Is there a list of who voted for them?

bobo gigi

Missy deserves it. She’s a wonderful swimming ambassador.

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!