Houston Widens Its Lead on Second Day of Phill Hansel

by SwimSwam 0

November 23rd, 2019 College, News


HOUSTON – The University of Houston Swimming & Diving program widened its lead on the second day of action at the Phill Hansel Invitational. Houston closed out the day with 1,187 points.

Prelims will begin at 10 a.m. each day, with finals beginning at 6 p.m. on Thursday and Friday, and 3 p.m. on Saturday.

Diving events will take place 12 p.m. on Thursday and Friday with a 11 a.m. start on Saturday. A consolation final will follow each of the preliminary rounds and be immediately followed by finals.

For more information visit the meet page by clicking HERE.


For the second straight day Peyton Kondis shattered a program record in the prelims. Kondis swam 59.41 in the 100 Breaststroke for first-place, an NCAA B-Cut and her fastest-time of the season in the event. Angeliki Mavrantza finished in fourth-place at 1:01.25 for an NCAA B-Cut of her own, as Gaby Jimenez rounded out the A-Final for the Cougars in seventh-place at 1:01.94. Five Cougars would advance.

In the final Kondis would shatter a program record for the fourth time in two days as she swam a 59.16 to take first-place in the event. The time is the fastest of her career, a program record and an NCAA B-Cut time. The time would have scored at the NCAA Championships last season and is currently the second-fastest time swam this season in the NCAA. Mavrantza swam a time of 1:01.05 to take fourth-place, earning an NCAA B-Cut time of her own. Jimenez would finish seventh in the A-Final at 1:01.60 for her first NCAA B-Cut of the day.

Houston had four Cougars advance to the final of the 400 Individual Medley. Freshman Audrey McKinnon led the squad with a 13th-place finish at 4:23.25 to land in the A-Final of the event.

In the final McKinnon finished 15th-overall at 4:25.43, picking up 12 points for the Cougars.

The 100 Butterfly saw five Cougars advance to the final behind a second-place finish from Katie Higgins at 53.84, coming up just short of her collegiate-best in the event. Both Isabel Tank (55.67) and Kaley Hoffman (55.95) posted lifetime bests in the event to advance to the final, along with Morgan Rosas and Hannah Esopenko.

In the final Katie Higgins took second-place in the A-Final with a time of 54.24 to pick up 28 points for Houston.

The 200 Freestyle resulted in eight Cougars advancing to the final behind a first-place finish from Zarena Brown in the prelim at 1:45.70. Mykenzie Leehy took second-place at 1:46.40, the fourth-best time in school history as Samantha Medlin placed fourth at 1:48.14 which is the sixth-fastest time in program history.

In the final Brown and Leehy would once again take first and second-place in the event with a pair of NCAA B-Cuts as Brown finished at 1:45.08 and Leehy bested her previous collegiate best in the event with a time of 1:45.53, the third-fastest time in school history. Medlin rounded out the A-Final for Houston in fifth-place at 1:47.79, a lifetime best.

Laura Laderoute led the Cougars in the 100 Backstroke, nearly besting her personal record in the event with a NCAA B-Cut time of 52.93 for first-place. Ioanna Sacha took second-placae at 54.14 for second-place and the fourth-fastest time in program history. Kaley Hoffman rounded out the A-Final for the Cougars in the event as six advanced.

In the final Laderoute would post a time of 53.10 for her second NCAA B-Cut of the day in the event for first-place, as Sacha earned a second-place finish at 54.64.

On the boards it was a Cougar sweep as senior Lauren Burrell won the prelims of a diving event for the second straight day. Burrell posted 311.85 points in the 3-meter and was followed by Katie Deininger in second-place (281.60) and Chase Farris in third-place (280.35).

In the final Burrell would post 311.85 points for the second time today and win her second event of the meet as Houston took four of the top five places in the event. Deininger finished second with 282.25 points, followed by Wallar in third-place with 275.50 points, as Farris rounded out the top-five in the event in fourth-place with 275.10 points.

In the first relay of the night, Laderoute, Kondis, Higgins and Leehy combined for a time of 1:38.76 in the 200 Medley Relay for first-place.

The Cougars won their second relay of the day, as Leehy, Medlin, Brown and Elizabeth Richardson combined for a time of 7:16.61 for first place in the 800 Free Relay.


From 1975-1996, Hansel was the most influential man for the University of Houston swimming and diving team. He guided the Cougars to more than 70 dual meet victories and ten Top-20 finishes at the AIAW and NCAA Championships. All of that hard work paid off, as Phill Hansel was inducted into the Hall of Honor on Nov. 14, 2008. In 1996, Hansel finished out the season with over 39 years of coaching experience and was recognized as one of the most successful collegiate swim coaches in the nation.

In his honor, the University of Houston will host the Phill Hansel every fall.

This year’s Phiill Hansel Invitational will include Nevada, UC Davis, Rice, Air Force, Tulane, Colorado State, Florida Gulf Coast, Northern Colorado, Washington State, North Texas, Nebraska Omaha and New Mexico.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments