Hapkiewicz, Glasgow Named NE10 Co-Women’s Swimmers of the Year

Courtesy: Northeast 10

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Bentley’s Emma Hapkiewicz and Southern Connecticut’s Justice Glasglow earned a share of Northeast-10 Women’s Swimmer of the Year as the NE10 announced the women’s swimming & diving major awards on Monday.

Emma Hapkiewicz secured Swimmer of the Year honors for the first time in her career, after being named Rookie of the Year last season. Justice Glasgow also earns the honor for the first time, while Bentley’s Mary Huminski secured Diver of the Year recognition for the third year in a row. Pace’s Sophie Greko earned Rookie of the Year honors while Tim Quill was named Swimming Coach of the Year and Rick Danehy took home Diving Coach of the Year.

Hapkiewicz was named the Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet at the NE10 Championships this year. She won all three of her individual events, the 500, 1000 and 1650 freestyle events. She set new NE10 records in the 1000 (10:15.02) and 1650 (16:59.48), breaking her own records she set at the 2022 championships. Hapkiewicz made NCAA B Cuts in all three events and swam in the 1650 at the 2023 NCAA Championships, finishing 22nd.

Glasglow won the 100 butterfly with a time of 55.87 and finished third in the 200 butterfly (2:10.21). She swam a leg on the first-place 400 medley (3:53.71) and 200 (1:47.55) medley relay teams and swam a leg of the second-place 200 free relay team (1:37.80). Glasgow placed 10th with a 54.80 finish at the 2023 NCAA Championships in the 100 butterfly.

Huminski secured her third straight Diver of the Year honors after sweeping the 1-meter and 3-meter diving events. She won the 3-meter event with a score of 414.25 and claimed the 1-meter title by 11 points with her score of 425.80. She also competed in the NCAA Division II Diving Qualifier following the regular season.

Greko won the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:53.47 and place third in both the 500 freestyle (5:06.04) and the 400 IM (4:37.07). She also swam a leg of the 400 and 800 free relays, as well as the 400 medley relay.

Quill earned his 13th Swimming Coach of the Year honor after leading the Owls to their fifth first-place finish in the last six years. Danehy earned his eighth Diving Coach of the Year honor and his fourth straight after having his divers made the podium in the 1-meter and 3-meter events.

Co-Swimmer of the Year
Emma Hapkiewicz, Bentley

Co-Swimmer of the Year
Justice Glasgow, SCSU

Diver of the Year
Mary Huminski, Bentley

Swimming & Diving Rookie of the Year
Sophie Greko, Pace

Swimming Coach of the Year
Tim Quill, SCSU

Diving Coach of the Year
Rick Danehy, Bentley

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments