Gymnast Simone Biles Wins WSF Sportswoman Of the Year Over Hosszu Et Al.

American Gymnast Simone Bilas was named the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Individual Sport Sportswoman of the Year on Wednesday in New York City. Bilas supplants swimmer Missy Franklin as the defending Sportswoman of the Year.

Swimmers have a long history with this award, including Franklin’s win last year, though it has been largely among Americans. This year, the one swimming nominee was Hungarian superstar Katinka Hosszu, whose 2014 season so far has included breaking World Records in the 100, 200 and 400 meter IM’s in short course, plus three European Championship golds and six total medals.

Despite the success that swimmers like Hosszu and American Katie Ledecky had in 2014, it’s hard to argue against Bilas, who dominated the 2014 World Artistic Gymnastics Championships. In total, she won four gold medals, including the all-around title and as part of Team USA’s team title in Nanning, China.

The women’s award for a team sport went to Meryl Davis, who with partner Charlie White became the first American duo to ever win Olympic gold in ice dancing.

2014 Nominees:

Individual Sport
• Jamie Anderson, Snowboarding
• Simone Biles, Gymnastics
• Marie Bochet, Paralympic Alpine Skiing
• Darya Domracheva, Biathlon
• Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Track and Field
• Katinka Hosszu, Swimming
• Stacy Lewis, Golf
• Tina Maze, Alpine Skiing
• Jamie Whitmore, Paralympic Cycling
• Serena Williams, Tennis
• Ireen Wust, Speed Skating

Team Sport
• Nadine Angerer, Soccer
• Valerie Arioto, Softball
• Meryl Davis, Figure Skating
• Annika Dries, Water polo
• Alisha Glass, Volleyball
• Kaillie Humpries and Heather Moyse, Bobsled
• Jennifer Jones, Curling
• Maya Moore, Basketball
• April Ross and Kerri Walsh-Jennings, Beach Volleyball
• Florence Schelling, Ice Hockey

Past Winners:

Past Individual Sport Winners

Simone Biles 2014
Missy Franklin 2013
Gabby Douglas 2012
Yani Tseng 2011
Yuna Kim 2010
Courtney Kupets 2009
Nastia Liukin 2008
Lorena Ochoa 2007
Melanie Troxel 2006
Erin Popovich 2005
Annika Sorenstam 2004
Natalie Coughlin 2003
Sarah Hughes 2002
Stacy Dragila 2001
Jenny Thompson 2000
Juli Inkster 1999
Michelle Kwan 1998
Gail Devers 1997
Amy Van Dyken 1996
Bonnie Blair 1995
Bonnie Blair 1994
Julie Krone 1993


Past Team Sport Winners

Meryl Davis 2014
Candace Parker 2013
Alex Morgan 2012
Abby Wambach 2011
Katie O’Donnell 2010
Jessie Vetter 2009
Jessica Mendoza 2008
Monica Abbott 2007
Misty May-Treanor & Kerri Walsh 2006
Cat Osterman 2005
Misty May-Treanor & Kerri Walsh 2004
Lisa Leslie 2003
Sue Bird 2002
Lisa Leslie 2001
Serena & Venus Williams 2000
Mia Hamm 1999
Cynthia Cooper 1998
Mia Hamm 1997
Teresa Edwards 1996
Rebecca Lobo 1995
Lisa Fernandez 1994
Sheryl Swoopes 1993

Past Professional Winners

Pat Bradley 1992
Meg Mallon 1991
Paula Newby-Fraser 1990
Steffi Graf 1989
Susan Butcher 1988
Susan Butcher 1987
Lynette Woodard 1986
Libby Riddles 1985
Martina Navratilova 1984
Martina Navratilova 1983
Martina Navratilova 1982
Chris Evert 1981
Tracy Austin 1980


Past Amateur Winners

Jackie Joyner-Kersee 1992
Jean Driscoll 1991
Lori Norwood 1990
Janet Evans 1989
Jackie Joyner-Kersee 1988
Jackie Joyner-Kersee 1987
Debi Thomas 1986
Michele Mitchell 1985
Joan Benoit 1984
Mary Lou Retton 1984
Mary Decker 1983
Mary Decker 1982
Tracy Caulkins 1981
Mary Decker 1980

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

Ledecky should have at least been nominated, especially since Hosszu was – Ledecky’s year more impressive than Hosszu’s in my opinion

bobo gigi
6 years ago

Ledecky not nominated! 😯
It’s hilarious.
What can she do more than she did?

I like cross-country skiing and winter sports overall and Marit Bjoergen deserves a nomination too. 3 gold medals at the olympic games. Amazing career.

Same for Tatyana McFadden, paralympian athlete, who won a medal at the winter olympic games and then has won all marathons she has done.

And why they don’t wait for the end of the year before giving awards?
The year of sport isn’t over yet!

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »