Georgia Hangs Banner for 6th Women’s NCAA Swimming Championship

The Georgia Bulldogs have hung their 6th NCAA title banner at the Gabrielsen Natatorium, as 2014 now hangs alongside 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2013, and 2014.

Heading into the 2015 season, though it will be a tough task with Bay Area rivals Cal and Stanford coming on strong, the Georgia women will have the chance to become the first women’s program in NCAA history (aka, since 1982) to take separate title three-peats.

Three other programs have had that chance in 33 years of NCAA women’s swimming. In 1989, Texas was looking for a back-to-back three-peat, but couldn’t pull off their 6th in a row as Stanford won. Texas would then take the next two titles (1990, 1991) before Stanford upset their bid again in 1992.

That was the start of a run of five-straight for Stanford as well, but USC in 1997 kept them from the back-to-back three peat.

Auburn came next, winning the titles from 2002-2004 under David Marsh, with the Georgia 2005 title breaking their streak. Auburn won the next two (2006 and 2007), but their chance at a second three-peat was upended by Arizona in 2008.


Leave a Reply

2 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Looks good!


Nice! Alot of programs would kill for just one of those or even a single conference championship, such as Purdue in the Big 10.

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!