Bryant Swimming Wins NEC Team Sportsmanship Award

by SwimSwam 0

April 10th, 2018 College, NCAA Division III

Press Release courtesy of Bryant Athletics

The Bryant University women’s swimming and diving and men’s basketball teams were honored with Northeast Conference Team Sportsmanship Awards for the 2017-18 season, as announced Wednesday by the NEC office.

The women’s swimming and diving team won its first NEC Championship in February, as the Black and Gold defeated second-place Wagner by 55 points. Three major awards went Bryant’s way, as freshman Elin Svard (Falun, Dalarna, Sweden) was selected as NEC Rookie of the Year, while Katie Cameron and Chuck LoCurto were honored as Coach of the Year and Diving Coach of the Year, respectively. Bryant broke 10 school records and finished its dual meet season at 8-3.

The men’s basketball team saw its sophomore class take the next step in 2017-18, as the second-year quartet combined for 57 percent of Bryant’s scoring. Sophomore Adam Grant (Franklin, Va.)was named an all-conference selection, while two other sophomores – Ikenna Ndugba (Boston, Mass.) and Sabastian Townes (Chesapeake, Va.) averaged double figures in scoring. In addition, seniors Hunter Ware (Powder Springs, Ga.) and Bosko Kostur (Melbourne, Australia) completed collegiate careers that placed them throughout the top 10 in the program’s Division I history statistically. Bryant returns eight players to the 2018-19 squad who averaged at least 13 minutes per game a season ago.

Northeast Conference 2017-18 Winter Team Sportsmanship Awards
Men’s Basketball: Bryant
Women’s Basketball: St. Francis Brooklyn
Women’s Bowling: Caldwell
Men’s Indoor Track & Field: Mount St. Mary’s
Women’s Indoor Track & Field:
 St. Francis Brooklyn
Women’s Swimming & Diving: Bryant

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments