South Africa’s Open Water Championships Conclude

Full Results (once published)

The 2018 South African National Open Water Swimming Championships took place over the weekend, with domestic and international athletes convening at the Marina Martinique in Jeffrey’s Bay on Sunday, March 4th.

A trio of women took the top 3 spots of the podium in the same order in both the 5k and 10k, led by 26-year-old Ana Soares da Cunha. Cunha was able to snag 5k and 10k gold, with Michelle Weber closely behind for silver, while Germany’s Sarah Boslett snagged bronze in both races.

Hungary’s Daniel Szeklyi was the men’s winner across both the 5k and 10k, with countryman Peter Galicz collecting silver behind him in each race. The bronze medalist in the men’s 10k was Dante Nortje, while Namibia’s Phillip Seidler produced the 3rd place finish in the 10k.

For the younger talent of the field, this year’s competition also doubled as the official qualifier for the FINA World Junior Open Water Swimming Championships slated for Israel in September. Below are the winners in those age groups:

Men’s 3k, 12-14:
1. Dennis de Villiers
2. Connor Albertyn
3. Enzo Pretorius

Men’s 3k, 15-16:
1. Flippie vd Spuy
2. Zac Ellis
3. Connor Buck

Men’s 3k, 17-18:
1. Cole Craig
2. Seyuran Perumal
3. Nicholas Campbell

Women’s 3k, 12-14:
1. Leigh McMorran
2. Catherine van Rensburg
3. Chloe le Roux

Women’s 3k, 15-16:
1. Kaitlyn Albertyn
2. Trinity Hearne
3. Emilie Krog

Women’s 3k, 17-18:
1. Payton Horton
2. Jesica Smit
3. Thelise Saunders


Leave a Reply

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!