Russia Announce 30-Strong Roster for European SC Champsionships

The All-Russian Swimming Federation has announced a 30 swimmer roster for this year’s European Short Course Championships. The event will see over 500 athletes descend on the Tollcross International Swimming Centre in Glasgow, Scotland from December 4th-8th. 

At the 2017 installment of the competition, which was held in Copenhagen, Denmark, Russia came out on top of the medals table with a total of 9 gold, 5 silver and 4 bronze ahead of Hungary and Italy, respectively. Many of the swimmers who made their mark at the 2017 event will be racing again this year, including then 17-year-old Kliment Kolesnikov. Kolesnikov cause major upset in Denmark when he set two new World Junior Records in the 100m and 200m backstroke. He won the 200 in a time of 1.48.02, ahead of Poland’s Radoslow Kawecki (1.48.46) and Lithuania’s Danas Rapsys (1.49.06). In the 100m he claimed his second WJR of the meet in a time of of 48.99, just 0.07 of a second away from Matt Grever’s Senior World Record. 

Vladimir Morozov will look to continue his form at this meet after an impressive ISL run for Team Iron. He was also named Male Overall Winner at the 2019 Swimming World Cup for his performances which saw him gain 20 gold medals and 1 silver. In 2017, he helped Team Russia bring home gold in the 4x50m freestyle relay at this event alongside Kolesnikov, Sergey Fesikov and Mikhail Vekovishchev, who are all named on this year’s squad. He also won gold in the individual 50m freestyle in a Championship Record time of 20.31. Maria Kameneva will also return after she won bronze in the 100m backstroke (57.01) in Copenhagen. 

Joining the Russian team is 14-year-old prodigy Evgenia Chikunova, who earlier this year swam a 2.21.07 in the 200m breaststroke at the 2019 European Junior Swimming Championships in Kazan, Russia. Her time is the third fastest this year to date, behind fellow Russian Yulia Efimova (2.20.17) and American swimmer Annie Lazor (2.20.77). Efimova is not on the roster.

Gold medalist in the 50m butterfly in Copenhagen, Aleksander Popkov, will also look to increase his European medal count in Glasgow. He also helped Russia beat Italy in the 4x50m men’s medley relay by a substantial 1.5 second margin. Two swimmers who brought home gold for Russia in 2017 but will not be competing this year are Kirill Prigoda (200m breaststroke – 2.01.11) and Aleksandr Krasnykh (400m freestyle – 3.35.51). Below you can find the full roster as well as the selection criteria. 

Russian Roster for the 2019 European Short Course Swimming Championships

    • Andrusenko Vyacheslav Dmitrievich (Republic of Tatarstan)
    • Borodin Ilya Alexandrovich (Bryansk region)
    • Vekovishchev Mikhail Dmitrievich (Kaluga Region)
    • Godun Nika Valerievna (Moscow)
    • Grinev Vladislav Sergeevich (Moscow)
    • Dorinov Mikhail Vyacheslavovich (Nizhny Novgorod Region)
    • Zhigalov Alexander Yuryevich (Kemerovo region)
    • Kameneva Maria Andreevna (St. Petersburg; Orenburg region)
    • Kirpichnikova Anastasia Dmitrievna (Sverdlovsk region)
    • Klevanovich Elizaveta Nikolaevna (Tyumen region)
    • Kolesnikov Kliment Andreevich (Moscow)
    • Kostin Oleg Olegovich (Nizhny Novgorod Region)
    • Krivonogova Irina Andreevna (Samara region)
    • Kudashev Alexander Anatolyevich (Samara region)
    • Kudryashov Vladimir Sergeevich (Kemerovo region)
    • Malyutin Martin Vladimirovich (Omsk Region)
    • Markov Daniil Dmitrievich (Novosibirsk region)
    • Morozov Vladimir Viktorovich (Moscow)
    • Nikitin Anton Arkadievich (St. Petersburg)
    • Osipenko Alexander Vladimirovich (Moscow)
    • Pasynkov Daniil Valerevich (Moscow)
    • Popkov Alexander Evgenievich (St. Petersburg)
    • Pribydok Alexander Konstantinovich (St. Petersburg)
    • Surkova Arina Aleksandrovna (Novosibirsk region)
    • Tarasevich Grigory Arkadevich (Republic of Tatarstan)
    • Temnikova Maria Sergeevna (St. Petersburg)
    • Ustinova Daria Konstantinovna (Sverdlovsk region)
    • Ustinova Daria Sergeevna (St. Petersburg)
    • Fesikov Sergey Vasilievich (Yamal-Nenets Autonomous Okrug; Kaluga Region)
    • Chikunova Evgenia Igorevna (St. Petersburg)


    • Valiakhmetov Eduard Albertovich (Republic of Tatarstan)
    • Maltsev Dmitry Alexandrovich (Tyumen region)
    • Harlanov Alexander Igorevich (Penza Region)
    • Chikunova Daria Yaroslavna (St. Petersburg)
    • Shabasov Andrey Dmitrievich (St. Petersburg)
    • Shevlyakov Roman Sergeevich (St. Petersburg)

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
11 months ago

how come no Zhilkin on the team?

Vasili Rajevski
11 months ago

Long live mother Russia💪