Purdue, Ohio State Dominate Day 3 of Zone C Champs

Though we’re not DiveDove, we do dabble in diving coverage, and as diving can have a major impact on the NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships, we cover NCAA Zone Diving – mainly through the lens of how national diving qualifiers could impact the team points battles later this month.


  • Zones A, B, D, E: Monday, March 5 – Wednesday, March 7
  • Zone C: Thursday, March 8 – Saturday, March 10
  • Host schools:
    • Zone A: Rutgers University
    • Zone B: University of Tennessee
    • Zone C: Ohio State University
    • Zone D: University of Minnesota
    • Zone E: Northern Arizona University
  • NCAA selection primer

Purdue’s Brandon Loschiavo won the men’s platform event, leading a team of three men and five women to NCAAs. Northwestern’s Olivia Rosendahl won on women’s platform, giving her three top-3 finishes on the week.

Zone C results

Purdue had a huge final day, qualifying three more women to bring their total to five female divers on the NCAA roster. Emily Meaney was second to clinch a reimbursement slot, and will be joined by Alexis Vincent (5th) and Emily Bretscher (8th). Purdue already had Samantha Reese and Morgan Meixner qualified.

Indiana added another diver with Mya Kraeger taking 9th, Ohio State got Lara Tarvit in in 4th place and the Michigan women will now have two divers in after Christy Cutshaw finished 6th.

On the men’s side, it was Ohio State qualifying a slew of divers. Christopher Law was already in, but took 4th on platform. Same with Stephen Romanik, who finished 8th but also got bumped into a reimbursement slot. Plus Aaron Daniels-Freeman (9th), Clay White (10th) and Jacob Siler (11th) picked up the last three qualifying spots in the Zone.

Here’s a look at the current qualifying chart:


Athletes in bold have earned NCAA reimbursement.

1 3-meter Champ Pei Lin, MIA Michael Hixon, IU
2 1-meter Champ Jessica Parratto, IU Michael Hixon, IU
3 Platform Champ Olivia Rosendahl, NU Brandon Loschiavo, PUR
4 3-meter 2nd Jessica Parratto, IU James Connor, IU
5 1-meter 2nd Olivia Rosendahl, NU Steele Johnson, PUR
6 Platform 2nd Emily Meaney, PUR Steele Johnson, PUR
7 3-meter 3rd Olivia Rosendahl, NU Steele Johnson, PUR
8 1-meter 3rd Samantha Reese, PUR James Connor, IU
9 Platform 3rd Jessica Parratto, IU Andrew Capobianco, IU
10 3-meter 4th Molly Fears, UL Joseph Coumous, ND
11 1-meter 4th Pei Lin, MIA Joseph Cifelli, PUR
12 Platform 4th Lara Tarvit, OSU Christopher Law, OSU
13 3-meter 5th Samantha Reese, PUR Christopher Law, OSU
14 1-meter 5th Talisa Lemke, BGSU
Sebastian Masterton, UK
15 Platform 5th Alexis Vincent, PUR Sebastian Masterton, UK
16 3-meter 6th Genevieve Angerame, OSU Stephen Romanik, OSU
17 1-meter 6th Erin Isola, ND Joseph Cuomos, ND
18 Platform 6th Christy Cutshaw, MICH Ross Todd, MICH
19 3-meter 7th Alexandra Shereda, EMU
Sebastian Masterton, UK
20 1-meter 7th Kelly Straub, ND Andrew Capobianco, IU
21 Platform 7th Molly Fears, UL Chase Lane, UK
22 3-meter 8th Nikki Canale, MICH Andrew Capobianco, IU
23 1-meter 8th Morgan Meixner, PUR Kevin Frebel, UK
24 Platform 8th Emily Bretscher, PUR Stephen Romanik, OSU
25 3-meter 9th Talisa Lemke, BGSU Ross Todd, MICH
26 1-meter 9th Joseph Smith, OAK
27 Platform 9th Mya Kraeger, IU Aaron Daniels-Freeman, OSU
28 3-meter 10th Morgan Meixner, PUR Joseph Cifelli, PUR
29 1-meter 10th Stephen Romanik, OSU
30 Platform 10th Courtney Clark, UK Clay White, OSU
31 3-meter 11th
32 1-meter 11th
33 Platform 11th Jacob Siler, OSU

Take a look at the qualifying spots for each zone and each event:There are five zone meets spread across the country that allow divers to qualify for the NCAA Championships. Based on performances at the previous NCAAs each zone earns a set number of qualifying spots.NCAA Diving QUALIFYING PROCEDURES


1m 3m Platform
Zone A 6 6 5
Zone B 7 7 9
Zone C 8 10 10
Zone D 11 9 9
Zone E 9 9 8


1m 3m Platform
Zone A 6 5 5
Zone B 6 6 7
Zone C 10 10 11
Zone D 9 8 6
Zone E 5 7 7

A priority chart determines who gets the reimbursement spots. The first priority spot is taken by the winner of each event beginning with the 3-meter champ, followed by the 1-meter champ and then the platform champ. If an athlete wins two events, they will still only take up one slot which means the NCAA will keep adding rows to this chart until the zone meet reimbursement quota is met.

According to the rules set in 2015 that allowed more divers into the meet, any diver who lands in the qualifying spots for their zone earns a spot to compete in the NCAA Championships. If the diver earns eligibility in one event, they can automatically compete in any of the other two events at NCAAs as long as they finished in the top 12 in their zone in that event.

The NCAA made a distinction between “eligible” and “reimbursed” athletes. Divers qualifying outside of the reimbursement spots will not have their travel, lodging, or meet expenses covered by the NCAA.  Instead the individual school must decide if they’re willing to pay the bill themselves to give that diver an opportunity to participate in the NCAA Championships.

Women Men
Zone A 4 4
Zone B 6 7
Zone C 10 10
Zone D 12 9
Zone E 9 5

Leave a Reply

3 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
3 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Robert Lewis

Can someone explain to me why IU’s James Connor and Michael Hixon were not allowed to compete on the platform. They were excellent on the 1and 3 meter dives.


They aren’t really platform divers and probably just wanted to focus on springboard.


Canale is from Michigan, and that makes for two divers for the women’s team.


LOL! Yep! That’s Steele not Brandon!

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!