Louisville’s Worrell, Kylliainen earn ‘Louie’ awards for entire Cardinal athletic department

It’s banquet season, and the Louisville Lady Cardinals have transferred their run of success straight from championship meet season into this new frontier.

Kelsi Worrell and Tanja Kylliainen each picked up “Louie” awards at Louisville’s school-wide athletic department banquet, and a few days later, the team held its own swimming banquet to recognize its all-around banner season.

Coming off of a breakout NCAA Championships, Worrell was named Adidas High Performance Athlete of the Year, and also took home the Louie for Best Record-breaking Performance. That was courtesy of her national record-shattering 100 fly from the NCAA Championships.

Kylliainen was also honored, earning the Louie for Senior of the Year. Kyllianen made the A final in all three of her individual events at NCAAs, including a 4th-place finish in the 400 IM.

That ceremony took place a week ago, and over the weekend, both women added more accolades to their trophy cases.

Worrell and Kylliainen joined men’s breaststroker Thomas Dahlia in winning the Rick Hill Award at the swimming & diving team banquet Sunday. That award is given to the athletes chosen by teammates and coaches as the most valuable member of the squad.

Dahlia made the championship final of the 100 breaststroke at NCAAs this season, which was the fastest NCAA championship final in the history of the event – for the first time in college swimming history, all 8 men in the final broke 52 seconds, and all 8 did so in prelims and finals.

Courtesy of the Louisville Swimming & Diving program, here is the full list of award-winners:


Freshman of the year – This award is voted by the team and awarded annually at the end of the season to the most promising new team member

  • Rachel Grooms
  • Carlos Claverie

Ralph Wright Most Memorable Performance Award – This award voted by the team and presented annually to the individual who inspires the team with the most memorable performance.

  • Kelsi Worrell 100 Fly American Record at NCAA Championships
  • Men’s 400 FR Relay at NCAA Championships – Rudy Edelen, Trevor Carroll, Thomas Dahlia, Matthias Lindenbauer

Academic Honor Award –  This award is presented annually to the individual who contributes the highest to the team GPA

  • Nolan Smith, Jake Schultz, Grigory Tarasevich
  • Emily Stalmack, Abby Chin, Lauren Herich

Cardinal Spirit Award – This award is given annually to the individual that demonstrates commitment and team spirit to the University and Athletic Department. They are accountable to themselves, their team, family, and community, and have PRIDE in being a Cardinal. They continually encourage their teammates around them to be the best Cardinal that they can be. GO CARDS!

  • Erica Belcher
  • Dexter Thomas

Underclassmen Unity Award – This award is given annually to the individual swimmer or diver who helps to unify the underclassmen and bridge the gap between upperclassmen. This individual shows future promise as a leader and demonstrates a serious commitment to the vision of the program.

  • Andrea Cottrell
  • Matthias Lindenbauer

Joseph Mittel Award – This award is presented annually to the graduating senior who has consistently supported the team in the devotion to training and competition.

  • Abby Chin
  • Addison Bray

Relay Award – This award is presented to the swimmer who has taken an individual sport to the highest team level by inspired performances as a member of relay teams. Relay award winners consistently performed at their best when others were depending on them.

  • Women’s 200 MR at NCAA Championships – Tanja Kylliainen Andrea Cottrell Kelsi Worrell Andrea Kneppers
  • Men’s 200 MR at NCAA Championships – Grigory Tarasevich, Thomas Dahlia, Josh Quallen. Trevor Carroll

Most Improved – This award is presented to the swimmer or diver who best demonstrated the persistence and dedication in their sport with proven exceptional performance improvement over the course of the season. This individual displayed an attitude of purpose on a daily basis.

  • Andrea Kneppers
  • Emily Stalmack
  • Rudy Edelen

Coaches Award – This award is given annually to the swimmer or diver who best demonstrates the true spirit of Louisville Swimming and Diving. It is an award in which the means justify the end. It is given not only for hard work and personal improvement, but for a willingness to enter into a partnership with coach and teammates in an effort to recognize one’s full potential. The recipient of this award has participated in the struggle, each and every day, and in the end found victory over personal limitations.

Rudy Edelen

Nolan Tesone

Tanja Kylliainen

Rick Hill Award – Awarded annually to the swimmer or diver chosen by teammates and coaches as the most valuable member of the squad.

  • Thomas Dahlia
  • Tanja Kylliainen
  • Kelsi Worrell

Cardinal Supporter Award – Awarded annually to an individual of the swimming and diving community, who actively supports the team, and is a valued member of this organization.

  • Chelsea Peitz
  • Mike Purivs

Igniting Performance –  Awarded to the individual who had an igniting performance, setting the tone for the team’s performance.

  • 200 IM at ACC Championship – Tanja Kylliainen
  • 100 Fly at ACC Championship – Pedro Coutinho

Perseverance Award – Awarded to the swimmer or diver who shows that with the odds against them, they keep fighting and never give up.

  • Ashley LeClair
  • Aaron Young

Photos from the Louie Awards:

(All photos are courtesy of Michelle Hutchins Louisville Athletics)

Tanja Louies Tanja NCAA Kelsi NCAA Kelsi Louies1

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »