IU Studs, Schmitt, Meili Expected at Pro Swim Series Finale

In a final tune-up for many swimmers ahead of next month’s Phillips 66 National Championships, a host of Olympians and National Team members are expected to compete at next week’s TYR Pro Swim Series at Columbus, set for July 5-8 at Ohio State’s McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

Among the standouts expected to headline the field are Olympic champions Lilly King (Evansville, Ind./Indiana University) and Allison Schmitt (Canton, Mich./Pitchfork Aquatics), as well as fellow individual Olympic medalists Chase Kalisz (Bel Air, Md./Athens Bulldog Swim Club), Katie Meili (Colleyville, Texas/New York Athletic Club), Cody Miller (Las Vegas, Nev./Sandpipers of Nevada) and Leah Smith (Pittsburgh, Pa./Tucson Ford Dealers Aquatics).

National Team member Zane Grothe (Boulder City, Nev./Mission Viejo Nadadores) sits second in the men’s TYR Pro Swim Series standings behind Kalisz entering the sixth and final stop and is expected to compete in Columbus for the first time since setting two short-course-yards American records at 2017 Winter Nationals. More than 80 swimmers from host Ohio State and a number of area age-group standouts also will be in action.

The four-day meet opens with timed finals for the 1500-meter freestyle on Thursday, July 5 at 5 p.m. EDTFriday, July 6 through Sunday, July 8 will feature 10 a.m. EDT prelims followed by finals at 6:30 p.m. EDT.

Single- and all-session tickets and meet information is available online: https://www.usaswimming.org/utility/event-pages/event-detail/2018/07/05/default-calendar/tyr-pro-swim-series-at-columbus

Two nights in Columbus will feature live television coverage with the Saturday, July 7 action split between the Olympic Channel (6:30-7 p.m. EDT) and NBC Sports Network (7-8 p.m. EDT) and the Sunday, July 8 competition airing on NBC Sports Network at 6:30 p.m. EDTFriday, July 6 finals will be streamed via the NBC Sports App. Also, a live webcast of daily prelims and the Thursday, July 5 distance session will be available at usaswimming.org.

Also continuing in Columbus is USA Swim Squads, a new feature for 2018 that allows USA Swimming National Team members to compete for team points and a grand prize throughout this year’s events. Four teams, captained by Olympic legends Natalie CoughlinLenny KrayzelburgJason Lezak and Kaitlin Sandeno, will feature six active athletes designated across six event categories (one athlete per team per category) who are eligible to score points in a maximum of two events from that category – free, back, breast, fly, IM or flex. Team Krayzelburg leads the way with 457 points heading into Columbus.

In the 2018 TYR Pro Swim Series, swimmers may earn awards for top-three finishes in all individual Olympic events. At each meet, $1,000 will be provided for a first-place finish, $600 for second and $200 for third. Participants will be awarded points in each individual Olympic event throughout the duration of the series (Five points for first, three for second, one point for third place).

At 2018 Phillips 66 Nationals, the point totals will double to 10 points for first place, six for second and two points for third place. The final series tally will be computed after the 2018 Phillips 66 National Championships, slated for July 25-29 in Irvine, California, and the prizes will be awarded at that time.

The top eligible male and female overall point total winners in the series will earn a one-year lease of a BMW vehicle, as well as a $10,000 series bonus. For more information on the TYR Pro Swim Series, visit: https://www.usaswimming.org/tyr-pro-swim-series

Keep up with all the latest USA Swimming news by following @usaswimming on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

About USA Swimming

As the National Governing Body for the sport of swimming in the United States, USA Swimming is a 400,000-member service organization that promotes the culture of swimming by creating opportunities for swimmers and coaches of all backgrounds to participate and advance in the sport through clubs, events and education. Our membership is comprised of swimmers from the age group level to the Olympic Team, as well as coaches and volunteers. USA Swimming is responsible for selecting and training teams for international competition including the Olympic Games, and strives to serve the sport through its core objectives: Build the base, Promote the sport, Achieve competitive success. For more information, visit www.usaswimming.org.

Press release courtesy of USA Swimming.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

3 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
4 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

PSYCH SHEET: https://www.usaswimming.org/docs/default-source/eventsdocuments/guides/2018-tyr-pro-swim-series/2018-tyr-pro-swim-series-at-columbus/18-6-28_psych-sheet—columbus-v2.pdf

Other notable swimmers include Michael Andrew, Kelsi Dahlia, Ryan Held, Justin Ress, Siobhan Haughey, Asia Seidt, Cierra Runge, Felix Auboeck, Miranda Tucker, Reece Whitley, Mallory Comerford, Amanda Kendall, the Deloof sisters, Joao De Lucca, Vien Nguyen, Takeharu Fujimori, Hiromasa Fujimori, and Becca Mann.




The winner gets a one year lease on a BMW and $10,000? Is that right? Chump change. Let’s put up some real money!!!


It seems many National teamers are staying local at this point in the season….if they are doing a meet at all.

About Coleman Hodges

Coleman Hodges

Coleman started his journey in the water at age 1, and although he actually has no memory of that, something must have stuck. A Missouri native, he joined the Columbia Swim Club at age 9, where he is still remembered for his stylish dragon swim trunks. After giving up on …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!