Indiana Men Earn Conference Honors After 2nd Straight Big Ten Title

by SwimSwam 2

February 25th, 2018 Big Ten, College

Press Release courtesy of the Big Ten Conference

Indiana claimed the 2018 Big Ten Men’s Swimming & Diving Championship Saturday at the Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center on the campus of the University of Minnesota. The title marks the team’s second consecutive conference crown.

Indiana collected 1,658 total points throughout the four-day event. Michigan finished second after collecting 1,617.5 points and Ohio State was third with 1,300.5 points. Purdue finished fourth with 735.5 points, while Minnesota recorded 712.5 points to finish fifth.

The Hoosiers took home titles in 14 of 21 events at the Championships. Indiana’s Vini Lanza was named Swimmer of the Championships and Michael Hixon was tabbed Diver of the Championships. Michigan’s Ricardo Vargas claimed Freshman of the Year honors.

The complete 2018 All-Big Ten Teams and Sportsmanship Award honorees are listed below.

2018 Big Ten Individual Honors

Swimmer of the Championships: Vini Lanza, Indiana

Diver of the Championships: Michael Hixon, Indiana

Freshman of the Year: Ricardo Vargas, Michigan

2018 All-Big Ten Teams

First Team

Gabriel Fantoni, FR, IND

Ian Finnerty, JR, IND

Vini Lanza, JR, IND

Ali Khalafalla, SR, IND

Mohamed Samy, SO, IND

Blake Pieroni, SR, IND

Felix Auboeck, SO, MICH

Bowen Becker, JR, MINN

Michael Hixon, SR, IND

Charles Swanson, SO, MICH

Steele Johnson, JR, PUR

Paul Powers, SR, MICH

Luiz Gustavo Borges, FR, MICH

Evan White, SR, MICH

James Peek, SR, MICH

Brandon Loschiavo, SO, PUR

Bruno Blaskovic, FR, IND

Second Team

Matt Thomas, SO, MINN

Conner McHugh, SR, MINN

Tuomas Pokkinen, SO, MINN

Mokhtar Al-Yamani, JR, MICH

Kai Williams, JR, MICH

Patrick Ransford, SR, MICH

Ricardo Vargas, FR, MICH

Evan White, SR, MICH

James Connor, JR, IND

Tom Donker, FR, MINN

Thomas Cope, SO, MICH

Levi Brock, SR, IND

Nikola Miljenic, FR, IND

Noah Lense, SO, OSU

Nick Yang, JR, MINN

Paul Delakis, FR, OSU

Matthew Abeysinghe, JR, OSU

Andrew Loy, SO, OSU

Mossimo Chavez, JR, OSU

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Indiana, Cody Coldren, Sr.

Iowa, Chris Dawson, Sr.

Michigan, James Peek, Sr.

Michigan State, Alex Duffy, Sr.

Minnesota, Matt Thomas, So.

Northwestern, Will Hofstadter, Jr.

Ohio State, Brad Shannon, Jr.

Penn State, Ryan O’Neill, Sr.

Purdue, Hudson Bursch, Sr.

Wisconsin, Anthony Lyons, Sr.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
2 years ago

Who is the swimmer in the first photo?

Reply to  MrsTarquinBiscuitbarrel
2 years ago