High Diving Star Orlando Duque competes for $118,000 in Prize Money

The world’s elite high divers will gather this weekend in the stunning Mexican island of Cozumel to compete at the second edition of the newest FINA event in the Aquatic calendar, the FINA High Diving World Cup 2015, taking place from May 8-10.

 Orlando Duque, highdive, 2013 FINA World Championships (Image Courtesy of FINA)

Orlando Duque, highdive, 2013 FINA World Championships (Image Courtesy of FINA)

This second edition of the event will bring together 32 divers (23 men and 9 women) from 15 nations: Brazil, Belarus, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Spain, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Mexico, Poland, Russia, Ukraine and USA.

Two events are on the programme: a men’s competition in five rounds and a women’s competition in three rounds. Men perform from a 27m platform while women take off from a 20m platform.

On the occasion of the highly successful inaugural edition in Kazan (RUS) in August 2014, diving legend Orlando Duque (COL) made history by becoming the first winner of the competition. The Colombian star, also gold medallist at the 2013 FINA World Championships in Barcelona, was followed by Gary Hunt of Great Britain, who ended up second with 580.05 points. Steve LoBue (USA) got the bronze totalising 571.70 points in Kazan. These three athletes will be in Cozumel, where local star Jonathan Paredes (third in the 2013 Worlds) will certainly fight for the top places.

In the women’s event, the US dominated the 2014 edition, with three North American athletes on the podium. Rachelle Simpson was the most consistent of the final, getting the gold in 216.00. Counterparts Ginger Huber and Cesilie Carlton (the first world champion in 2013) finished on the two other steps of the podium. Other names to watch in Kazan include Germany’s Anna Bader and Brazil’s Jacqueline Valente.

As the sport has continued to grow in popularity and attractiveness since its first introduction at the FINA World Championships in 2013, the total prize money available for this event is of US$ 118 000 and the winners will each receive US$ 10 000.

Diving News is courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

Great job, Colombia is great. REPRESENT

6 years ago

Orlando Duque is incredible. I love watching this sport and wish it was on the list for Rio. Fond memories of watching the cliff diving on wide world of sports as a kid.

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »