Halsall impressive swimming two top five times in Edinburgh

by SwimSwam Staff 0

June 02nd, 2013 Europe, International, News

Over the weekend at the East District Grand Prix in Edinburgh Fran Halsall swam times in both the 50 freestyle and 50 butterfly that rank top five in the world. In the 50 freestyle she posted a 24.44 which is currently third in the world behind Cate Campbell and Ranomi Kromowidjojo. She won the 50 butterfly in a time of 25.97, which ranks fifth in the world.

Both times were season’s best having previously swum a time of 24.77 in the 50 freestyle and 26.00 in the 50 butterfly.

Halsall also won the 100 freestyle in a season’s best time of 54.23 having posted a time of 54.61 in March.

Halsall was not the Loughborough swimmer to have a successful meet. Daniel Fogg won the 400 and 1500 freestyle in a manner that displayed how well his conditioning has been. In the 400 freestyle Fogg finished the race in a time of 3:54.27, splitting 1:57.01 and 1:57.26 and in the 1500 freestyle he finished in a time of 15:24.76, splitting 7:42.63 and 7:42.13.

Roberto Pavoni won the 400 IM by almost a full eight seconds finishing in a time of 4:17.43 while Liam Tancock who only competed in the 50 backstroke won the event in a time of 25.97.

Hannah Miley won the 400 freestyle and 400 IM as well as placing third in the 200 freestyle (2:01.85), 200 breaststroke (2:30.91), 200 IM (2:14.22) and 50 backstroke (30.89). In the 400 freestyle Miley had a great final 200 meters to catch Anne Bochmann for the win. Bochmann took the first 200 out in a time of 2:03.11 leading Miley, who turned in a time of 2:07.13, but Miley had a lot more in the tank negative splitting the race, coming home in a time of 2:07.08 for a final time of 4:14.21. Bochmann finished second in a time of 4:14.34.

Miley won the 400 IM with much less drama posting a time of 4:44.81.

Lizzie Simmonds won the 200 backstroke in a time of 2:10.30 which is just off her season’s best of 2:10.25. She also won the 100 backstroke in a time of 1:01.02.

Siohban-Marie O’Connor won the 100 butterfly in a season’s best of 59.57 and also took home the win in the 200 IM posting a time of 2:11.15, which is just over half a second off her season’s best of 2:10.53.

Kerri-Anne Payne took the 800 freestyle in a time of 8:34.27.

On the men’s side Joe Roebuck won both the 100 butterfly (53.40) and the 200 IM (2:02.42). Chris Walker-Hebbron won the 100 backstroke in a time of 54.88 while Michael Jamieson won the 200 breaststroke in a time of 2:13.39.

Full results can be found here

In This Story

Leave a Reply