With a lot of confusion roaming around about why Cal’s Fabio Gimondi won’t get credited with the 42.83 that he swam at the Georgia Tech Last Chance meet, we were contacted by Joel Shinofield, the Executive Director of the College Swimming Coaches Association of America with some more information.
Specifically, Joel sent us a document that is called the “2013 Championship Qualification Meet Criteria” that governs all meets, to the exception of conference championship meets, within 10 days of the application deadline. In other words: Last Chance Meets. It explains why Gimondi’s swim, in his second Last Chance event, wasn’t credited.
Within is the following clause [items in brackets are our additions]:
Each student-athlete is permitted to qualify in only one championship qualification meet [read: Last Chance Meet]. If a student-athlete participates in more than one championship qualification meet, results for that student-athlete from the second meet [in this case, Georgia Tech] will not be eligible for championships qualification.
This ruling doesn’t appear in the championship pre-selection handbook or the 2012-2013 Swimming & Diving rulebook, anywhere that we’ve found at least, which would explain why so many were having trouble tracking it down. That likely costs Cal Gimondi’s services as an individual qualifier, which will hurt as he had individual scoring potential. He should still be going as a relay only qualifier.
Thanks to Joel and the CSCAA for helping solve the mystery.