Danielle Galyer Named 2016 NCAA Elite 90 Award Winner

The Elite 90* Award is given to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA that competes at the final championship site for each of the NCAAs 90 championship events. Only sophomores, juniors, and seniors are eligible for the award.

*Formerly known as the Elite 89 and Elite 88 Award

This year’s winner is Kentucky junior Danielle Galyer, who has a 4.0 cumulative GPA as a Political Science major. 6 of hte 7 winners in the award’s history have swum for teams that are current members of the SEC.

Galyer, the 2015 SEC Scholar of the Year, is a member of the USA Swimming National Team as the 6th-fastest American 200 backstroker in the 2014-2015 long course season. Collegiately, her high finish is 4th in the 200 meter backstroke at the 2015 NCAA Championships as a sophomore.


  • 2016 – Danielle Galyer, Kentucky
  • 2015 – Emily Neubert, Texas A&M
  • 2014 – Chantal van Landeghem, Georgia
  • 2013 – Emma Svensson, FGCU
  • 2012 – Wendy Trott, Georgia
  • 2011 – Alyssa Connor, Texas A&M
  • 2010 – Ella Doerge, Texas A&M

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder/co-owner of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »