Michael Phelps Sinks The Most Epic Putt You’ve Ever Seen for Eagle

  19 Braden Keith | October 05th, 2012 | Featured, Lifestyle

pinit fg en rect gray 28 Michael Phelps Sinks The Most Epic Putt Youve Ever Seen for Eagle

On day 2 of the 2012 Dunhill Links Pro Am Championship, Michael Phelps is really warming up. On the par 4 hole number 6, Phelps sunk what the European Tour estimated to be a 159 ft putt for an eagle. For those unfamiliar with the terminology, this is on a professional-grade golf course, and Phelps finished the whole in two fewer shots than what a player is expected to shoot.

This is one of the most amazing putts you will ever see, by a professional or an amateur. Very few golfers will ever even get the opportunity to make a putt that long – this is a particularly large green. After being disappointed with his performance on the first day, that putt put Phelps and his partner Paul Casey, a professional golfer, to 4 under already: a huge improvement off of day 1.

The putt goes over three ridges, and ends up taking almost a 90-degree right turn in total. That was followed by a great Phelps victory dance – a much more lighthearted reaction thanwe see when he similarly wows us in the pool.

Comments

  1. Liliana says:
    0
    0

    Is this bad news for the sport of swimming (that he’s getting better in golf)? Like, he’s never coming back?

  2. LS says:
    0
    0

    Lili – possibly!! but damn that was an awesome shot! really happy for him

  3. CMA says:
    0
    0

    I cannot undestand how did he go for the most boring sport ever. So sad.

  4. bobo gigi says:
    0
    0

    Shot of the year? Congrats to Michael! A legend is still a legend.

  5. Jean Michel says:
    0
    0

    Great guy , what ever are the comments above ! which means , when u feel the groove for
    something , magic happens .

  6. Eve says:
    0
    0

    I am bursting with pride (even though I am not into golf although when Bubba Watson did that crazy shot and won the masters that was boss)

  7. Opinionated says:
    0
    0

    How freaking cool was that!!!

  8. 0
    0

    Absolutely amazing! And very funny. Though I’m a little concerned he is peaking too early. Still needs work om his periodisation. With golf back on the Olympic roster, will we see him in Rio after all? Else we introduce aquagolfathon in 2020.

  9. Mark Rauterkus says:
    0
    0

    Great shot and a 2 stroke penalty. The putt needs to happen with the flag / pin removed.

    What’s up with that?

  10. rules says:
    0
    0

    He must have been ruled to have been off the green from where he putted, so stick can stay in without penalty.

  11. Brian M says:
    0
    0

    If you watch the video again, you can clearly see that he is putting from the fringe, therefore no penalty.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connect with Facebook

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

In this Story

About Braden Keith

The most common question asked about Braden Keith is "when does he sleep?" That's because Braden has, in two years in the game, become one of the most prolific writers in swimming at a level that has earned him the nickname "the machine" in some circles. He first got his feet …

Read More »